We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliantly run traditional pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
chelmsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Brilliantly run traditional pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Great food, service And spotlessly clean, Stayed in room 7,great shower, TV is downstairs as is the bathroom so don't choose this room if you have disability problems. Staff we're very helpful. A well oiled machine with traditional values.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    67
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
32
134
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have stayed several times at the Bell Inn - most recently in the new addition of Hill House. In each case the standard of the rooms has been excellent and very good value for money compared to London hotels. It is 30 minutes from central London and worth every mile. The most impressive thing is the service - I received arguably some of the best service I have ever had - and I travel all over the world for my living. It was everything you could wish for - warm, friendly, super effecient, nothing was too much trouble. This applied to the owner/hosts all way down to the girl who showed us to our room. The second most remarkable thing about this little haven was the quality of the dining - I was expecting rather good pub grub & what I actually received would give any star restaurant in Britain a run for its money.

Room Tip: In the original hotel rooms are beautifully decorated in Victorian style In the new part, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked at short notice and were allocated Room 10.
Arrived for sunday lunchtime drink - really nice character pub with a good mixture of locals and diners.
Room 10 was a wonderful surprise - modern and cosy at the same time. Beautiful bathroom/wetroom with great mood lighting.
Dinner was superb too.
Overall a very good experience and looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Can recommend Room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitkey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford Le Hope
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had a wonderful meal...as always, and stayed in the newly opened High House. The room was lovely (High Heaven). The decor was perfect, bed and pillows lovely and comfy, really loved the different colour mood lighting in the room. It really was High Heaven!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Went for office Xmas do. Seated in upstairs quaint room. The meal and service were excellent. Turkey and Xmas pud could not be faulted. Excellent value for money. Not been here for many years but will come again soon

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Have just paid a second visit to The a Bell and once again myself and group of friends had a very enjoyable evening.
We were accomodated I believe in the Bonson Suite which was ideal for the numbers in our party.
The menu choice was excellent and two of the people with us were "veggies" and they were looked after with items not on the daily menu.
Although in a suite of our own the service was good with the young waiting staff being most attentive.
If I have one criticism is that the food could have been hotter. I appreciate that the food has to come from the kitchen downstairs and along the corridor but perhaps they would be better served by having the plates covered to alleviate this problem.
Overall though an enjoyable experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bruciesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The room (Du Barry suite) had the wow! factor, bathroom needs an update and a shelf but both very clean. The food and service were excellent. All the staff we met were polite, especially the young women with a sparkly bow on the back of her bun, who was there gone 12 the night before and still had a smile the next morning at breakfast. (Sorry failed to get your name)
Not sure if the Essex breakfast is worth £9.25 though.
On the whole a great time had by all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndon-on-the-Hill
1.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
8.2 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
13.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
10.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Property: The Bell Inn Hotel
Address: High Road, Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 27 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bell Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing