We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family favourite”
Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bell Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Well what can I say that hasn't been said already. Very friendly and well trained staff. Great atmosphere and wonderful food. There is always a good selection of real ales and a very interesting wine list. The Bell has been in the same family for many decades, and there dedication to providing the perfect dining experience is second to none. Long may it continue.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nannyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Recently went back to the Bell for a birthday celebration. Was delighted that the food was top notch as ever, and the staff as welcoming and friendly as previous visits. Booked a room in newly completed high house hotel. Really impressed. Very " mr and mrs smith" style rooms, without the cost. Thoroughly recommend this place for a good meal, stop over, atmospheric pub experience. Not found anything that comes remotely close in the area

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wearethebryants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Beautiful setting and fantastic food, what a treat! Plus they catered for my husband who has coeliacs disease and must have strict gluten free diet but wasn't a problem here as all fresh produce . Recommended to me & I recommend to you

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We dined and stayed at The Bell for New Year. Our room was one of the original ones up a private staircase, the room was lovely, very well appointed and cosy. We are lucky enough to live locally and everything about the Bell exceeds what one might hope to expect of a country pub. John and his team run a very tight ship and their hard work and dedication pays off.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great lunch with work colleagues - best place to eat for miles around, friendly staff, excellent staff and the beer choice good & well kept caller, what else can you want for ?
My colleagues are well travelled and love their food and even they were surprised at the standard of the food. I would recommend this pub / restaurant to anyone.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Vegieplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Visited for a business lunch recently, very quaint and well run pub, good choice of beers, and very good service. I have a very nice crab cake starter followed by lambs liver, all very well executed, albeit the liver was a little too well done for my liking. My fellow diners also praised their meals. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here for one night on business based on a recommendation from friends.

After checking in at reception I was shown to my room. This was useful as we headed up the road away from the Inn and then through a gate into the courtyard of a nice building (with a Heritage Plaque indicating it was once owned by the founder of Vincent Motorcycles and another showing it is a Listed Building), and then to the room.

My room (The Garret) and bathroom were split level and of a very high standard. Comfortable, well equipped and with top quality fixtures and fittings. The bed was good quality, the room was quiet and I slept well.

Dinner in the Inn was good, it is very popular and was packed on this weekday evening and I was glad I had reserved a table.

Breakfast was a buffet and a cooked breakfast was not included with my room and cost quite a bit more so I avoided that, which was a shame.

There was, however, one drawback. As my meeting did not start early I stayed in the room quite late before checking out, but still left some time before the last checkout time. While changing from casual to formal attire, and not very dressed, a workman let himself into the room without knocking. Despite my calling out as the door opened, rather than quickly exiting, he seemed happy to stand in the doorway and have a discussion on when I might be leaving so he could get on with whatever job he wanted to do.

I was not impressed by this, and when I mentioned it to reception they were quite apologetic.

It seems sensible to check that rooms have been vacated before starting work, and a matter of routine to knock and wait a moment before entering.

Despite that one mishap, based on all the good points I would recommend this Inn / Hotel and hope I get to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndon-on-the-Hill
1.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
645 reviews
14.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,709 reviews
6.8 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,032 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
665 reviews
10 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Address: High Road, Horndon-on-the-Hill, Thurrock SS17 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 26 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers cocktail bar & restaurant. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing