We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Such a nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here on business for 4 weeks and was lucky to have a suite. The pub/restaurant part is in a separate building with two other buildings that comprise the hotel. The room was stunning, the food superb, the restaurant ambiance was good and it was always packed without being unpleasant. The only slight problem is that you had to walk (just a few yards really) between buildings and I can imagine that women would complain about getting their hair spoiled if it was wet and windy. There is loads of car parking and the little village is easy to find. This place is high on my personal 'recommended' list. Well done to everyone at the Bell Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    67
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
134
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our welcome was friendly and our room large and comfortable. But there was quite a lot of dust around and the vase on the dressing table contained long dead flowers. A drink in the crowded bar before dinner showed the place's popularity and we were looking forward to our meal, especially as this pub was voted Essex Dining Pub of the Year. Sadly, it was very average and the restaurant lacks the atmosphere of the bar. My "slow roast" pork looked and tasted anything but, being dry and somewhat tough. The next morning, as we were due to meet our son for Sunday lunch later in the day, we opted for, what turned out to be, a rather dull continental breakfast with bog standard cereals, very ordinary pots of low fat fruit yoghurts and carton juice. There was toast on offer which one made oneself. Cooked breakfast is not included in the B&B rate. If this is the best pub dining experience Essex has to offer I think I'll stay out of the county.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is an old style pub with a great restaurant, fantastic food and friendly staff. In the bar you can even take your dog with you, a really friendly place to have a drink or food, and also a hotel. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Been many times now and each visit gets better, rooms are first class and the food is fantastic, The staff are first class and go out of there way to help you.
The Bell was an old coaching house and is a listed building.

Room Tip: the new part High House is fantastic well worth a bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0987Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Really helpful staff, gorgeous room with a massive bath and double shower. This hotel is a real gem in a lovely village. Beautiful old building, refurbished to a really high standard. we were able to park our car securely in the courtyard behind which was great. Breakfast was lovely too. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fababbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watamu, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say that hasn't been said already. Very friendly and well trained staff. Great atmosphere and wonderful food. There is always a good selection of real ales and a very interesting wine list. The Bell has been in the same family for many decades, and there dedication to providing the perfect dining experience is second to none. Long may it continue.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Recently went back to the Bell for a birthday celebration. Was delighted that the food was top notch as ever, and the staff as welcoming and friendly as previous visits. Booked a room in newly completed high house hotel. Really impressed. Very " mr and mrs smith" style rooms, without the cost. Thoroughly recommend this place for a good meal, stop over, atmospheric pub experience. Not found anything that comes remotely close in the area

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wearethebryants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndon-on-the-Hill
1.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
8.2 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
13.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
10.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Property: The Bell Inn Hotel
Address: High Road, Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 27 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Bell Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing