We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - can be very good”
Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2010

There really aren't many hotels in this area and I work in the a lot I stay here a depressing amount of time, not that the bell is depressing!
It is a Gastro pub with rooms and the pub/restaurant is always packed (with people who could ONLY be from Essex mostly) has an excellent selection of beers and very good food. The food is not cheap, in fact it is expensive but mostly worth the money. One problem is the menu is limited, all the dishes are a variation of the meat in sauce theme and you can get a bit bored with after a couple of nights. But overall if you are in the area it is much better than any alternatives especially if you can get one of the refitted rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoredScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for The Bell Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

This small family owned country inn 20 miles east of London. The place is old with beamed ceilings, creaky sloping wood floors, pealing paint, old brass plumbing etc. My large room, the Du Berry Suite had a four poster bed with mirror suspended from the ceiling. It had a small flat screen TV, free wireless, a coolish hair dryer, plenty of hot water from a rain shower fixture, kettle, clothes press and opening window. The hotel has a popular pub and well regarded restaurant. At 75GBP including breakfast it is a good alternative to a business hotel. It seems very popular so reservations for dinner and the room are important.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Great food, good service. Have been a customer for near on 10 years. If you want an all you can eat buffet then dont go here. Have never experienced any problems with the pub. Local produce and a varied menu. Can be expensive sometimes but where isn't these days

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C.Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Party of 5 aged 23-51 on Sunday 3rd January 2010

Food: starters, wild Boar Carpaccio £7.20 tasty but over priced, mushroom soup £4.50 fair portion taste ok , potted crayfish & shrimp £5.95 tasty, slightly over priced for portion, 2 x Honey roast butternut squash/dolcelatte salad £5.50 bit pricy but tasted ok.
MAIN: 3 X Confit pressed veal belly/side veg carrot,swede,parsnips £16.10 each, beautifully cooked and very tasty. pork chop /stilton glaze v tasty with same veg £8.95
Organic porkfillet, creamed root veg/bubble & squeak beautifully cooked, great taste £13.95. The portion of extra chips were great
Meal was Much Better Then Last Visit.
Service: quick and efficiant(was a quiet night)
Ambience:bit noisy from bar area but relaxed

Points: we were not given menu as it was written on large board(they are available)so was not aware of what came with meal ie if vegetables were included with meal, prices obscured on board. Tables are closly packed and not ideal for private conversation.
overall My sons loved the food not the price, I wont be rushing back my bill came to £140 incl tip, a bit hit and miss

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

Hordon on the Hill seems to be a lovely little Essex town, but sadly there doesn’t seem to be a huge amount of places to stay in the area.

The room was OK, but I’d hoped for something a little nicer for the £50 room only cost of a double. There is some outdated décor about, but it was clean and tidy.

The pub/restaurant is packed, but the food was again, a bit disappointing. It tried hard – venison carpaccio, Neal’s Yard Cheeses etc, but the things we tried weren’t brilliantly cooked, or the flavours well balanced. I asked the waitress what the cheeses were, and she said she thought there was a stilton and a goats cheese. I’m sure she would have found out for us, but you’d hope that they’d know,
when they are asking £8.10 for it!

All round, I’m sure it’s an excellent option if you want to stay in that area. I’d have been happier to pay a little less for something less pretentious, had there been an option. We appreciated the cockles
the next day at Leigh on Sea all the more!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We didnot stay at the Inn but only went for lunch. The surroundings were delightful the pity is the meal did not live up to ones expectations. The service was poor due no doubt to the fact that the inn is used to train students. The quality of the food was second rate and indeed only upon returning home did I realise that my dessert was missing the pistachio ice cream which was supposed to accompany it. The sweet potato samosa on fennel mash was probably worthy of a fourteen year old's attempt at cooking, rhubarb crumble had a topping that tasted like saw dust with inedible pastry. Vegetables unexciting. Chicken was tough and tasteless. To be fair our companions enjoyed their venison. Best part of the meal was the bread and olives. Prices very high for lunch £110 for four of us, one guest had only one course another had only two courses. The only thing that was cheap was the coffee , presumably because it was virtually undrinkable.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
4  Thank pastelmuneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

The Bell In is a fantasic find, only 15 minutes from the docks at Purfleet/Dagenham and 10 minutes from the M25/Dartford crossing.

It appears to be a very well managed, privately owned pub, resteraunt and hotel combination.

The rooms are very querky (oak beams, 4 poster beds etc) each one seems to be individual, clean, well presented and are reasonably priced (I paid £75 for a suite).

The Pub is really popular with the locals, good atmosphere and has a nice beer garden.

The resteraunt is fantasic - my collegue and I both thought the food was incredible and very reasonably priced for a hotel.

Putting it simply, I'll never stay at one of those plastic Marriot/Hilton/Holiday Inn places again whenever I am in the East London area.

This place is full of real people, real atmosphere, quality food and proper personal service.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndon-on-the-Hill
1.3 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
605 reviews
6.8 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
739 reviews
8.3 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,602 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
636 reviews
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Address: High Road, Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range: £66 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 26 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers cocktail bar & restaurant. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bell Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing