We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glendalia Boutique Hotel & Culinary Studio
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendale B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I read all the great reviews about this place online, it met every expectation I had.
I communicated about reservations via email, love that personal communication with a live person. The owner met us upon arrival and walked us to our room (definitely more like an apartment).
The room was very clean, and beautifully decorated, kind of a Victorian feel to it.
A few "heads up" :
The bed was a temporpedic mattress, which we found out we do not like and had trouble sleeping.
The TV is in the front sitting room only, if your plan is to lay in bed and veg out watching TV, this room won't make you happy.
The Trains. I really thought, how bad could it be? Bad. With the combination of the new found hated mattress and the trains, rough night.

The surrounding town is so lovely and fun to explore, cute shops, and nice places to dine.

All in all, we were looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway from our normal routine, and we found it. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to get away, relax, and explore.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I believe all 7 of our jaws dropped when we saw the size and spaciousness of our rooms. Seven women in my family were meeting from around the country to have a weekend away in Cincinnati, and the rooms were perfect for gathering together. If anything we had more space than we actually needed. The decor was lovely, well kept and clean. The hospitality of the owner went above and beyond what we expected for our weekend. Glendale is a sweet little town and from the Inn you're walking distance from a handful of shops and restaurants. The train is noisy, but that just added to the historical charm of the town. We have already started to make plans to return for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Glendalia was more like a very unigue apartment. We stayed in the Procter room..it had 2 bedrooms,livingroom,full kitchen and bath. It was very clean and comfy! Breakfast is not served here,they leave you drinks and bakery goods,which was very nice.We enjoyed walking around the lovely town,peaceful and quiet...but your are next to the railroad tracks,the train sounds didn't bother us.A wonderful out of way place to stay if your visiting Cincinnati.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbeyroad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I found the Glendalia on Bed and Breakfast .com and was surprised because it was a hotel under the bed and breakfast site, but now I know why. It is a small property with the very personal and homey feel of a bed and breakfast operated right out of someone's home, but has the privacy space of a nice hotel. I stayed in the Proctor Suite and I seriously would be content to call it home. It is beautifully appointed and has every thing you could need down to a washer and dryer in the unit. The master bedroom was incredibly comfortable and nice, but I would have been just as comfortable in the second room with the twin beds I am sure.The train that runs though town only adds to the charm of the small town feel and experience to me. I was able to sleep well though out the night and when I was awake to hear the train it brought back fond memories of growing up in a small Midwest town. I am only disappointed that the new culinary school was not yet completed and open because with the equipment in the lobby that is ready for installation I a sure it will be wonderful. My only consolation is that the culinary classes will give me a reason to repeat this pleasant experience all over again!

Room Tip: For and extended stay the Proctor Suite will feel like home, only maybe better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

More apartment than hotel, more hotel than B&B.
This place is a true value - spacious, clean, beautifully decorated in a charming old neighborhood with shops and cafes w/in walking distance. We had an unexpected delay arriving later than we anticipated. We were greeted with more genuine kindness and understanding than we expected. It's a unique experience that I want more of!!
There is a train about a block away that runs by every couple hours but the bed was so comfy and we were so cozy it barely registered. I noticed that others stated the breakfast was skimpy it wasn't a full meal, but it was enough; oj, coffee and cereal are all we eat at home, the fruit was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel accommodations were great. It was beautifully decorated!! The owner was wonderful. The area is beautiful and charming yet close to larger shopping and restaurant areas. The owner went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.

Cleanliness *
When we arrived the bathroom had *hairs * all around the toliet floor, but after quickly finding the house keeper she came in and did another quick clean before we brought our things in. My 6 year old son also brought me a pack of motion sickness pills that another guest had left in the bathroom drawer! Cleary not everything was cleaned before our arrival :(

Quality of sleep *
Last but not least... the trains!!!!!! The hotel is only about 500 ft from active train tracks. Active meaning a train or two coming through the town almost every hour /24 hours a day. They blow the whistle loud and proud all through the night!!! The train is close enough to actually rattle the windows a bit. My husband slept horribly, and if you are a light sleeper, chances are you will not get a full nights rest.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Glendalia is a different type of accommodation. It is more of an apartment than a traditional hotel. Our suite ( the Procter) had two bedrooms, a sitting room, a large dine-in kitchen and a bathroom. It was full of charm of a bygone era but with all the mod cons. Breakfast was light but with the bakery nearby that was no problem. OK, there are trains in the night but that didn't stop us getting a good sleep. It is very convenient to the I 75. The owner Robyn did everything possible to make our say comfortable. We didn't have a cell ph and we communicated with Robyn via e mail! Certainly, would think about a repeat stay if in that area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#5 of 17 in Sharonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalia Boutique Hotel & Culinary Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalia Boutique Hotel & Culinary Studio

Property: Glendalia Boutique Hotel & Culinary Studio
Address: 11 Village Sq, Glendale, OH 45246-4514
Region: United States > Ohio > Glendale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendalia Boutique Hotel & Culinary Studio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glendalia Boutique Hotel is Greater Cincinnati's best kept secret! Overlooking the scenic Village Square in Glendale, Ohio, The Glendalia is just 12 miles from downtown Cincinnati, and 3 minutes from I-75. Our hotel features 6 spacious and luxurious apartment style suites, all with king or queen beds. All our king beds have Tempur-Pedic mattresses. Our suites are decorated with original art, antiques, and custom window treatments and bed ruffles. All suites have kitchens or kitchenettes, living rooms, bedrooms, and baths with marble sinks and heated towel bars. They also feature cave showers, with the exception of our 2 bedroom Procter Suite, which has a bathtub and standard shower. The Procter Suite has an electric fireplace, and a second bedroom with twin, Tempur-Pedic beds. Staying at The Glendalia is like being home, only better! Each luxurious suite is named after historic Glendale figures or areas. We offer free, in-room continental breakfast, coffee, tea, and filtered water, free high speed internet, guest laundry, cable TV, and local calls.and THe Glendalia has a Culinary Studio offering Cooking Classes, Private Events, Wine Dinners and Corporate team building events. Anything surrounding Food and Fun. Glendale's Village Square has lush foliage, a fountain, gazebo, shops, salons, a bakery, and a village museum, located along an active train route, which adds to the lovely charm of this spot. We offer affordable nightly, weekly, and monthly rates. Ideal for a quick getaway, corporate travel, honeymoon stays, romantic weekends, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glendalia Boutique Hotel & Culinary Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing