We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for an excellent Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“Excellent location for an excellent Guest House”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A very charming and elegant room, excellent bed and a delicious breakfast. The people who we had contact with were very helpful and friendly, the possibility for my husband to communicate in French was a great plus. "We'll be back" as the saying goes !

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    28
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
132
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Hotel is located right next to the main shopping street and shopping center, a few meters from the sea and the promenade, ideal if you want to go running in the evening after a long day of work.
I felt very welcome and was treated like an important guest, you can really see that they care about their guests.
The breakfast was by far the best I had during my 2 weeks business trip in UK and is available very early until a very acceptable time. The staff even asked me what time I wanted breakfast, they are very accommodating.
I stayed in a double room en suite and the bed was very comfortable. the bathroom was spotless. The room was warm and the internet was working just fine.
What more to ask for?
I would definitely advise to go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Very attractive building nicely decorated, good location, great facilities- towels, toiletries, tea and coffee and free wifi. Comfortable bed and very clean. Best bits were the really friendly and helpful staff and the breakfast buffet, which was excellent. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wherever I lay my hat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Since the introduction of the word Boutique to the English language in the late 1960s for the London fashion industry the word has since spread to a specialised firm or industry....

Well, I'm not sure what Pier View specialises in, exactly... certainly not comfort or nice decor...

The word is often used to describe a property in the independent section of the hotel market in order to distinguish themselves from larger chains. However, in such cases the establishments aim to convey the idea that the operation is elite and highly specialised.

Not in this case!

Pier view is a long way from being worthy of Elite, and, again devoid from specialisation in anything other than being over prices for the the amenities available...

Room decor consisted of bare lightbulbs in fittings, oil stained bed linen, ink stained walls and an unsleepably uncomfortable bed... The only single room in the hotel involves a "non-ensuite private bathroom.

This "private bathroom" involves having to walk past two other bedrooms to get to it and requires the use of a keychain not dissimilar to that of a goaler from some edwardian period drama...

As for the other facilities...

Common-area decor was as "pleasent" as the bedroom with more bare electic lightbulbs lining the corridors...
The continental breakfast - while large - is not especially high quality or notable, and does seem to be purely to maximise profits at the cost of facilities for guests...
The breakfast is also served outlandlishly late for business travellers, with the sign-posted opening time for the dining room being 8am on a week-day...
The wifi was slow, even meters away from the access point...
TV unviewable from the rooms chair. Only practical if "sat in bed". Bolted to the wall, and unable to adjust angle at all...
The staff were especially unhelpful in respect to paperwork, and unable to provide a VAT receipt, asking me if it would be possible to postpone my checkout to obtain one...

Recently, the term "boutique" has started being applied to normally-mass-market items that are either niche or produced in intentionally small numbers at very high prices.

The pier-view is certainly at a very high price for what you get. And the rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy, even traffic sounds from hundreds of meters away being heard... I imagine this lack of sound-dampening can only get worse in the summer months with the proximity to the main shopping area and amusement park....

Room Tip: Avoid the single bedroom. Over priced. Awful room. Under-facilitated, much like the rest of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xalior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytsea, Owner at Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Sir,

We have been saddened but above all very surprised to read your comments.
We welcome reviews and constructive criticism but during your stay you appeared pleased and gave no signs of discontent. If you had spoken to us, we would have done our utmost to rectify any situation including changing your room.

Your review however contrasts with most comments received by our guests and by five
different hotel inspections and it describes a place that doesn't sound anything at all
like our property. For this reason we feel compelled to reply, point by point.

1) The price you paid was £60 for the night inclusive of VAT, luxury cotton linen,
large bath towels, two duck feather pillows, tea and coffee making facilities,
estuary views, private shower room, free high speed Wifi and an extensive
continental breakfast. All served in a fully restored Grade II listed building rated
by Visit Britain as a 4 star superior property. We think that the price is very
competitive. As for the bathroom, you were informed when you booked on the
phone that the single room was not ensuite but it has its own shower room just feet
away.

2) We have recently upgraded our wi-fi which achieves a full signal and service
throughout the property. We noticed that you had dismounted the box from the
wall and placed it on top of the cupboard but we were not sure why as it was
correctly positioned by the company who came to install it. As with anything if
you had a problem with the wi-fi you only needed to contact a member of the team.

3) Light Bulbs. Your room has an antique light fitting. As for the light bulbs in the
room and around the premises, we are an environmentally friendly establishment and
we fully comply with the rules and regulations which impose that all hotels are fitted
with low energy light bulbs to reduce carbon emissions in agreement with the Zero
Carbon Building National Policy in place since 2010.

4) Stains on the bed linen. The bed linen is fabulous and we get amazing feedback
from our clientele. It is professionally washed and ironed and we do not allow
anything with stains to go on our beds. If you had pointed this out to us, we would have had a chance to check and change it immediately if needed.
As for the room, it has been fully redecorated in November 2012 (we refresh the property every year room by room). We went to check the room and could not find the ink mark you have mentioned.

5) Breakfast. We have been given a Breakfast Award by Visit Britain and have great
feedback on our breakfasts. You mentioned that we had a lot to choice but then added
that we offer poor quality food to maximise the profits. Perhaps you should rethink
this and consider how much do yogurts, fresh fruit salads, ham, cheese (traditional
and spreadable), salami of different types, croissants, cakes, muffins, cereals,
different types of bread, free range eggs, Tiptree jam, Twinings teas cost, compared to
a sausage, a scrambled egg and a slice of bacon.

6) Noises. You said that our property is noisy but then, on the same day after writing your second ever review, you wrote a glowing report on another guesthouse in town which is located close by and on the same seafront location. We are centrally located but overlooking the pier and the sea and above a high cliff and we feel that the property is quiet considering its unique and fantastic spot.

7) Early breakfast. All business guests are asked if they would like early
breakfast as were you. You were invited at breakfast from 07:00. Our staff
waited purposely for you (which of course was no problem), instead you came down at 08:00 saying that you had been working all night so were late down.

8) Finally, the invoice. Many of our clients want their Vat invoices e-mailed
and we prefer this too, to avoid wasting ink and paper. However, we can
certainly print the invoices, and also post them. This is just down to the client’s
need. We do however apologize that it was not printed up for you on your
departure. The receipt has been sent to you by post.

In conclusion, as hoteliers and owners of a niche property we are aware that we might not be everyone's cup of tea but Pier View is the product of our family's hard work and total commitment to our clientele. Five years of strong sales, repeat business and business awards is testimony to this.

Kindest Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Hotel is close it everything you need In southend. The staff are absolutely brilliant and are always there if you need anything. Rooms are very nice and so clean as is the hotel itself. Lovely stay and thoroughly enjoyed my time here. Will be visiting again :) Dionne and Chris x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I have friends who live nearby and we have stayed 3 times in Southend, each time at Pier View. We stayed in the Sir William Heygate Room the first two times and this time (23rd Feb) in The Princess Caroline Room. Both rooms were perfect, the later was the better, it has a sea view.
Ed & Barbara, great host, and can not do enough to make your stay even better. David looks after the breakfast (on Sunday's anyway), he has so much local knowledge, regarding places to eat etc. The breakfast was plentiful, lots of different fresh fruits, ham, cheese and bread. Cereal's, Tea and Coffee. Additionally Pier View is yards away from a good High street and across the road from the amusements and the longest pier in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Weekend in Southend – cold, wet, bleak however staying at the Pier View was a sunny experience. As the name suggests the Guest House has views of the Pier (stayed in the Pier View Room)
The Pier view is heritage listed (Grade 2) and its heritage is lovingly maintained, it’s cozy, comfortable, immaculately spotless and welcoming , it holds prime location across the road from the beach however close to the commercial heart of Southend.
The Pier View is a family owned business and provides that special personal touch that is not found in any chain hotels with the 5 star comfort and service.
I hope to get back to Southend for the summer and enjoy the English sun and again enjoy the hospitality of the Pier View.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments

Property: Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Self-catering luxury apartments located in the beautiful conservation area in central Southend, overlooking the world-famous pleasure Pier. The apartments are set in a historical Georgian building, a unique property with a refined ambience, full of character with modern comforts and technology. The one bedroom self-catering apartments all have fully equipped kitchens including an induction hob, dishwasher and fridge with ice box. There are also LCD televisions, Blue Ray/DVD Players and a music system in each lounge. Bedrooms are located at the front of the property as is the communal lounge with its spectacular views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing