We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, highly recommended.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We visited during half term as a family of 4, with 2 young children. The room was great, the whole accommodation was decorated very nicely and very clean. The breakfast was the best continental we have had. Also Ed was a fantastic host and could not have done anything else for us. We would highly recommend staying there and we will be back.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank PaulS-Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed a few weeks ago and the Pier View is clean, homely and provides pretty much everything you might need for a weekend's break in South-end.

The staff could not have been more helpful, our view of the pier was unsurpassed, the room was comfortable and all in all we had a particularly pleasant stay.

A particularly great feature to enjoy is sitting out on the colonial style balcony from the breakfast room with a good book.

I would also take this opportunity to recommend a local restaurant called The Mews. Shockingly good!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yesnogame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at the 'Pier view' 31/01/14. This hotel is in the perfect position with regards proximity to shopping area, but more impressively was the amazing view of the seaside and Southend pier. The hotel staff were very warm and friendly and led to a homely, family feel to my stay. The breakfast was continental style with a large choice, and all very fresh. I would strongly recommend this hotel. In fact, this is the first time that I have been compelled to enter a review from any, of my many previous hotel stays.

Room Tip: Obviously, a sea view is a bonus!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theav01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely hotel at an excellent location. The owners are very nice, rooms are clean and cosy. The view on the pier is breathtaking. The attendants are always happy to help, share their experience. The cheese at the breakfast was very good (and I am picky). We will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matrix2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here for one night with family in the summer. The owners very welcoming. The room charming and very clean with a great sea view. The breakfast room beautiful too. If passing through Southend again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaS898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I spent 2 days at Pier View in Southend with my partner for his Birthday and have to say it was a fantastic experience. The B&B is a lovely place and all the staff and the owner where incredibly attentive and helpful. Having not been to Southend before I would love to go back for another visit and will certainly be staying at Pier View again as it was such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaJThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in November and the reviews on tripadvisor were great so we were expecting great things. Due to unforeseen circumstances we were late arriving and were very tired so we just went to bed. Our room was on the ground floor, facing the street and next to the front door. However, the room got very hot during the night although the radiators were cold when we got there and our attempts to open the secondary glazing and sash windows in the night were fruitless! Perhaps a fan in the room would be helpful - because the second night, we opened the window and were kept awake with loads of outside noise and comings/ goings through the front door. On a positive note the room was great- a bit dusty in the out-of-the-way spots, the bed huge and comfy and the continental breakfast expansive - although a bit predictable ( I have most of that in my kitchen to eat for breakfast!) The Saniflo system in the bathroom was noisy but I understand the need for it.
The staff were fantastic, friendly and informative and I have to say very sorry for our poor nights sleep on the Saturday when another Hotel's music kept us awake until gone 4:00. We are providing evidence for a complaint against the that Hotel with the Council. The owners of Pier View could not have done more to make things better for us. We loved Southend too - so much more than we expected. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for not to be put in the Lady Hamilton - the ground floor location and next to the front door di...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeymooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
629 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#3 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments

Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £107 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Self-catering luxury apartments located in the beautiful conservation area in central Southend, overlooking the world-famous pleasure Pier. The apartments are set in a historical Georgian building, a unique property with a refined ambience, full of character with modern comforts and technology. The one bedroom self-catering apartments all have fully equipped kitchens including an induction hob, dishwasher and fridge with ice box. There are also LCD televisions, Blue Ray/DVD Players and a music system in each lounge. Bedrooms are located at the front of the property as is the communal lounge with its spectacular views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing