We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Very nice pleasant stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very clean rooms, hotel staff were very friendly. We had a continental breakfast which we knew about but it would have been nice to have a full English. Free car parking, and very close to the sea. We had a sea view room for a good price which we had booked last minute.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit_Jathol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    28
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
132
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very clean, friendly hosts, nice breakfast, great location, comfy bed, lovely building. We were late getting up for breakfast and yet our hosts kept the breakfast out for us which was a really nice touch. We had a lovely time and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielpearson888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

....central location, walking distance from the train station, easy to find it, amazing view from the room, fresh berries for breakfast, selection of different teas, very helpful staff...really nice experience...thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ja1112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated near the Pier and the town centre. Car park (not secured) is available a few yards away.
We had a very warm welcome from Barbara but I found it a bit strange that we had to pay as soon as we arrived, despite the fact that we given had our credit card details when we booked a room. I did not like this, it is tactless.
Our room, Princess Caroline, was on the second floor, beautifully decorated, super clean and bright, overlooking the longest pier in the world! The shower room/toilet was on the small size but on the positive note the towels were on the large size!
The room was also overlooking The Adventure Park which was quite noisy till about 10 o'clock at night; music, klaxons and people screaming!
No cooked breakfast. The breakfast was continental and very disappointing as far as I was concerned; I had two danish pastries both stale. I asked for a decaffeinated coffee, I was given hot water and a nescafe sachet! What a shame!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thera1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytsea, Owner at Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write however I am surprised to read your feedback after the pleasant farewell we gave each other and the good comments you gave me on departure.

With regards to your review on the non tactful request of payment on arrival, we clearly state on the booking confirmation that payment is due on arrival. Pier View is a Guest House and not a hotel with receptionists and waiters. In the morning we are busy with breakfast and we try to avoid having clients waiting at reception to check-out and the payment on arrival resolves the issue. Moreover, I am sure that you would agree that I was never rude to you when asking if it was ok to settle the bill.

You hoped for English Breakfast but we clearly state online that we serve an extensive Continental Breakfast.

Finally the 'stale cake'....I can ensure you that we do not serve stale products. If the cake was dry, we are very sorry. It must have been due to it being on display. By pointing it out, we would have apologised profusely, brought you a new and fresh cake and checked the display. Food is out from 8am and is checked and replenished constantly but things can happen.

We also expect that reviewers should think that no hotels would put a stale cake out on display for the clients. We work to give our best service and clients should help hoteliers to be successful, giving honest feedback once there.

To help the tourism industry / hoteliers in the future please always inform staff at the time as we are sure that you will then have a more enjoyable experience

Here at Pier View we believe that a successful business is one that has an open relationship with the client. We love our profession and work to make our clients the happiest they can be, but this can only happen if the client asks for help or changes whilst there.

Thank you anyway for the pleasant other comments which were sincerely very much appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Barbara & Ed Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent a night last week at the Pier View with my sister and her family and we were really taken by the loveliness of the place, the owners and the staff were really friendly and the continental breakfast was delicious. The rooms were also lovely and I had the one at the top, the Cliff View one, which was really cosy and comfortable. The B&B is also centrally situated and we could not have asked for a better place. Shame we only stayed for one night.

Room Tip: Lady Hamilton was really comfy for a family but for one person the Cliff View is very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We decided we needed a night away from the children, the home, the pets, everything and Pier View was the perfect great escape.
The room was fabulous, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, situated right in the middle of town overlooking the pier.
Would recommend Pier View to everybody.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helju T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Pier View was a wonderful place to stay in Southend, the staff went above and beyond during our stay. We stayed in the Princess Caroline room which had a gorgeous view of the pier and sea and was an excellent room, very relaxing colours and very spacious. The Continental breakfast was the best continental we've had for a long time, there was a lot of food to choose from.
As it was my birthday we were given chocolates and a card which was an unexpected suprise. This B&B was fantastic and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Princess Caroline room has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments

Property: Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments
Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Self-catering luxury apartments located in the beautiful conservation area in central Southend, overlooking the world-famous pleasure Pier. The apartments are set in a historical Georgian building, a unique property with a refined ambience, full of character with modern comforts and technology. The one bedroom self-catering apartments all have fully equipped kitchens including an induction hob, dishwasher and fridge with ice box. There are also LCD televisions, Blue Ray/DVD Players and a music system in each lounge. Bedrooms are located at the front of the property as is the communal lounge with its spectacular views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing