We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glamorous decor, spacious room and great hosts”
Review of Suenos Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suenos Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Glamorous decor, spacious room and great hosts”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed for a night in late September. The property has recently been completely renovated and updates, and decorated in a very elegant style. Our spacious room had a huge double bed and a large, luxurious black and white bathroom with a free sanding roll-top bath and a separate very good shower. Everything is at smart hotel standard: real coffee and a cafetiere and fresh milk in the little fridge, home made biscuits. fluffy bathrobes, polished wooden floors.

My partner was filming on location until the early hours, so we needed a morning check-in and an afternoon check-out. The owners were VERY helpful and flexible in letting us do that, and gave us a warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt relaxed and at home.

Parking was easy, in our case on the road right outside the front door (free of charge). There's a nice pub 2 minutes walk away and the sea is directly across the road. It's on a bus route into town or you can drive to the town centre in about five minutes. However, this end of the seafront is the slightly quieter end, so you have the benefit of the sea without the hustle and bustle of the amusement arcades!

Suenos is a real find, in a great location. It's also great value for money because the quality of the rooms and the welcome are so high. I'd stay there again like a short and have recommended it to others.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a roll top bath - worth asking for if you like such things!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootlooseForties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
230
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Suenos Guest house has only been open since July and they deserve to be very successful. Teresa the host was very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The B&B has been renovated to a very high standard and with great attention to detail. The cosy lounge with the wood burning stove and the honesty bar strike a welcoming touch. There is a nice decking area to sit and linger over coffee and watch the boats go by (weather permitting!). The room we had was very pleasant with a double shower,large fluffy towels, robes, wifi, TV, the latest mags and fresh milk for the wide selection of Tea Pig beverages. To top it all they also provided REN toiletries -one of my favourites! Breakfast in the morning was very good with homemade granola and spiced pears. If you are going to Southend -STAY HERE.

Room Tip: we didnt have a sea view but at least one room has so would ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditton, Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We opted to stay at this brand new Guest house for a recent Saturday night in Southend, as you would expect for a guest house that has only been open for 12 weeks or so, everything was spick and span and tidy. I work in the construction industry and was immediately aware of the quality of the workmanship and fixtures and fittings that had been used in the recent refurbishment, and the thought that had gone into the design and the finishings.

Due to booking quite late we had to take one of the smaller rooms (Palermo) which meant we had a double (not king size) bed and a shower, but no bath. The shower was fantastic with a rainwater head and lashings of hot water and pressure. Downstairs was a very cosy guests lounge with soothing music, an honesty bar and a wood burning stove which was alight in September and would be sooooo cosy in the Winter.

Breakfast was good with quality ingredients used in the full English breakfast, Salmon on a cheese muffin was an alternative and the usual fruit and cereals are available as well. Neil & Teresa are attentive hosts who really have thought of most things when fitting out their business, we really hope their new venture succeeds.

Room Tip: We think only the top room with the rooflights has the estuary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for one night and loved it. Teresa made us feel so welcome right from the off. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was perfect. Short walk to a fantastic tapas restaurant. Gorgeous spacious room and impressive bathroom. Will definately go back!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashajoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were in Southend this weekend for an event at Adventure Island & I was recommended the Suenos Guest House as a good place to stay. I called a couple of weeks before the event & Teresa was only too happy to accommodate my request for a double room. She told me there were a few parking spaces in front of the guest house & if I had any problems on arrival, I should call & she would direct me to the rear car park.

On arrival, we were met by Teresa & taken into the spacious open plan communal lounge & breakfast area. We were offered a complimentary drink whilst checking in, & told that there was an honesty bar if we wanted anything at anytime. This is a nice touch for a guest house.

We were then showed to our room & wow, it was a lovely spacious room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The bathroom was amazing, with a large free standing bath & a fabulous shower. The toiletries were of a very high standard (I was told by my wife that they use them in the first class section of the flights she travels on). Teresa said she uses things she would like to find if she were to stay in another guest house/ hotel.

The room has a TV as well as free WIFI internet. There is a safe, hair dryer & slippers, as well as luxurious dressing gowns & towels. There is a fridge with complimentary bottled water, milk & ground coffee. As well as the kettle, there is a cafetiere & also a selection of wonderful teas.
We were given the room keys Along with the front door key & told that there is no cut off time for getting in at night (like many other places have).

The following morning we went down for breakfast, where we met Neil (Teresa’s husband) for the first time. He was very welcoming & told us to choose were we would like to sit for breakfast. Teresa asked what we would like to drink & told us to help ourselves to any cereals. She said that everyone had come down to breakfast at the same time & as everything is cooked fresh, there may be a delay in cooking our breakfast. Well, if she calls that a delay, I would hate to see it not delayed, as our breakfast came quickly after we had finished cereal. My wife asked about Teresa’s homemade Granola & Teresa said she would print out the recipe for her. Some of our friends from the event arrived as we finished our breakfast & as they went out onto the terrace to wait for us, Neil asked if they wanted any drinks. These were supplied at no cost & Neil joined us for a chat. When checking out Teresa said she hadn’t been able to print the recipe, but would email it. On arriving home the email was already there.

I don’t normally give a 100% rating, but I can honestly say, I was totally happy with our stay & could not find anything not to a standard I would want, when staying away from home. In fact this is like a home from home & I will definitely stay at the Suenos again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My boyfriend booked an overnight stay at the Suenos as I was on a course in Southend for the weekend. I'm so pleased that he found this little hotel as it was absolutely perfect, and located right on the seafront. The room was decked out beautifully and was very impressed with the decor in the bathroom, there was even a roll top bath in the middle of the room at the bottom of the bed! Everything was immaculate and the furnishings very good quality. The breakfast was excellent including home made jams and granola, which was the best I've ever tasted.

In the evening we found a wonderful restaurant literally across the road on the beachfront called 'Hundreds' it was fish and Spanish tapas, the food was excellent would thoroughly recommend this place! Also there was another bar/restaurant across the road with beautiful views of the beach and sea.

There was an honesty bar back at the guest house where we had a nightcap sitting in the lounge area before we went to our room. The bed was also very comfortable.

There is a lovely deck area to the front of the hotel where you can sit with your coffee and watch Southend go by.

We had a really lovely stay and would highly recommend this little hotel to anyone staying and visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

stayed last friday wow lovley place to stay great Sea view smart tv in room great showers to which is hard to find when staying away. Breakfast was lovley with great home made banana muffins :-). An was made very welcome. Great location not to far walk to the adventure island. Would really find it hard to find a better place to stay in southend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Guest House

Property: Suenos Guest House
Address: 184 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England (Formerly Arosa Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Suenos Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suenos Guesthouse is an award winning five star luxury Guesthouse situated on the sea front in Thorpe Bay, Southend on Sea, Essex. We have 5 individually decorated en suite rooms with top quality facilities including egyptian cotton linen, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, luxury 'REN' toiletries. 'Teapigs' tea, fresh coffee, fresh milk, homemade biscuits,complimentary bottled water. Each room is equipped with flat screen smart TV, iron, safe, hairdryer and mini fridge. There is a welcoming guest lounge, with an honesty bar and an outside terrace with fabulous views. The full English breakfast is locally sourced and includes home made granola and preserves, as well as excellent cooked produce for which we have received a breakfast award. Your friendly hosts Neil & Teresa Jones offer a personal service and great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Suenos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing