We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Stunning!”
Review of Suenos Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suenos Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Stunning!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Suenos is a real treasure in Southend. It's more like a boutique hotel than a guest house. A must for anyone who appreciates period features mixed with modern day style. We had a wonderful stay here and the best nights sleep in a long time. It is warm and welcoming during the typical January rainy season and can only imagine how delightful it will be during spring and summer with the wonderful views of the beach. A lot of thought has gone into restoring this beautiful building and a lot of attention to detail with the finishing touches. Neil and Teresa were lovely hosts, great breakfast and very helpful with recommendations in the area. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
231
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wonderfully restored guesthouse with excellent service and a fantastic breakfast. The room was brilliantly spacious, and there are fantastic little touches like fresh coffee and teas in the room. Excellent location to stay in Southend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndiRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have now stayed a few times at Suenos Guesthouse. Theresa is a wonderful host and the quality of the accommodation is outstanding. Comfortable beds, Towelling Robes, slippers, complementary wi-fi and a selection of tea in the rooms combine to make Suenos my first choice of accommodation in Southend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Suenos Guesthouse over New Years Eve and had such a lovely time. Neil and Teresa were so welcoming that we felt like the guesthouse was our home for two days. The spacious, gorgeous room we stayed in (Ushuaia) overlooking the sea with a balcony was perfect and the little added touches were like a 5* luxury hotel. Nothing was too much for the owners from the yummy breakfasts of whatever we wanted to kindly recommending wonderful places to go on our honeymoon. We have already recommended the place to our friends and will definitely be back. Neil & Teresa, you should feel so very proud - you have created the most gorgeous home and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Many thanks once again!

Room Tip: Go for the Ushuaia room - it's perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alig263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have stayed at the Suenos twice so far. We are looking forward to our next visit which hopefully will be early in the New Year. Terresa is a lovely host who makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive. I would recommend the Suenos to anyone who is making a visit to Southend. I think they need to just keep on doing what they are doing. Best Wishes for Christmas and the New Year. Bob & Sue

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpg1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Gorgeous stop off en route back to london via Southend Airport. It was just what we needed after a busy weekend away. Gorgeous room, lovely chilled atmosphere, fab brekkie... we feel very well looked after! Thank you.

Room Tip: We choose based on wanting a roll top bath... and did not regret it, lovely bath oil provided too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Excellent facilities, spotlessly clean and very friendly.
Neil and Teresa made us feel so welcome.
We thought that inviting us for a free drink in the comfotable lounge was a very nice touch and it encouraged us to meet the other residents.
The breakfast was so tasty.
We have already recommended it to our friends

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Guest House

Property: Suenos Guest House
Address: 184 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England (Formerly Arosa Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Suenos Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suenos Guesthouse is an award winning five star luxury Guesthouse situated on the sea front in Thorpe Bay, Southend on Sea, Essex. We have 5 individually decorated en suite rooms with top quality facilities including egyptian cotton linen, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, luxury 'REN' toiletries. 'Teapigs' tea, fresh coffee, fresh milk, homemade biscuits,complimentary bottled water. Each room is equipped with flat screen smart TV, iron, safe, hairdryer and mini fridge. There is a welcoming guest lounge, with an honesty bar and an outside terrace with fabulous views. The full English breakfast is locally sourced and includes home made granola and preserves, as well as excellent cooked produce for which we have received a breakfast award. Your friendly hosts Neil & Teresa Jones offer a personal service and great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Suenos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing