We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect overnight stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suenos Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suenos Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect overnight stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a lovely Anniversary stay at The Suenos. It was short but totally sweet. Ample parking around the back & a few spaces on the road. Welcoming complimentary drink on arrival & Neil gave us a few pointers on dinner options. We sat outside on the Deck taking in the Seaview before being shown to our room.
We stayed in the Attic Room Atacama which has been tastefully decorated. Every luxury element has been thought of from the complimentary Water & Biscuits, Fresh coffee, selection of Teas, Robes, Slippers & Ren toiletries. Roll top bath in the centre of room was beautiful. We had a very restful night.
The Honesty Bar in the guest lounge is a great bonus & we enjoyed a nightcap in the lounge. Decor was totally our taste & Neil & Teresa have managed to marry old & contemporary styles perfectly.
Breakfast was good, although being a Raw Vegan I don't have diary products or Soya milk. Teresa did offer to go out & get some Almond milk which was very thoughtful. I was satisfied with the selection of fruit & Granola. My Husband enjoyed his Full English thoroughly with no complaints.
My expectations were fulfilled & we had a luxurious night stay away from our kids & grandkids. If we ever venture to Southend again we would definitely stay at the Suenos & I have already recommended to friends & family.
Congrats on your 5* definitely well deserved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephcooke38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
226
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding on Southend Pier. A lovely luxurious B&B. warm friendly welcome and all our needs were met. Great sitting room with an honesty bar! Wonderful breakfast, wonderful service 5*

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Absolutely hands-down the best bed and breakfast I have ever been to.

As the only 5 star accredited offering in the Southend-On-Sea area, my husband and I selected Suenos from the great reviews we found online and were not disappointed. The building has been lovingly renovated giving the rooms an upmarket feel but maintaining the classic British seaside architecture. We walked around taking interior design tips that we found inspiring. The rooms are very spacious, contemporary and had bathrooms to die for. In-room touches like the complimentary hand-made cookies, upscale tea and coffee making facilities (with a small fridge that contained freshly ground coffee beans with a cafetiére no less!) were lovely surprises.

But the personal touches by Teresa & Neil had already set the high standard as we checked in. Teresa offered us a complimentary cocktail of our choice in the lounge/patio area while handling our paperwork, and gave us useful tips and some pointers about the area. Breakfast was delicious with all the cold choices you could ask for (cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts etc) and about 5 hot choices that included a full English breakfast with locally farmed meats and great vegetarian options. (Although we were told to ask for pretty much anything we wanted in any combination – nothing was too much hassle.)

To top it all, parking is not an issue. There is plenty of street parking (we parked directly outside the property for 2 days) with no charge.

If you want to experience Great British seaside food, you can walk to the main ‘strip’ in about 12-15 mins along the seafront. But we suggest going to the Pearl Dragon chinese restaurant (10 min walk). Let Teresa book you a table as they are good friends of the owners. Absolutely delicious, ‘true Chinatown quality’ Chinese food is PACKED with Chinese locals at the weekends for DimSum.

Foreigners and locals take note. In 40 years I have NEVER been to such a well maintained, upscale seaside B&B. And I grew up in Southend. This is literally a property in a 5 star class all by itself. Congratulations to Teresa & Neil for daring to raise the bar.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great individual styles and are beautiful but ask for a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The guest house was lovely and welcoming! The owners are friendly and work hard to make their guests feel at home and we certainly did!
We would recommend this guest house to friends and family.
The breakfast was truely amazing, the sausages were out of this world!

Room Tip: Classy child free environment, for parents who need a night off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here on business recently, the room I had , although not a sea vie was recently tastefully decorated, spacious bathroom and lovely products to use, and the fluffiest, whitest bath sheet I have ever had the pleasure of losing myself in. the fresh coffee and milk in the fridge made a pleasant change from instant and UHT in those small pots!
The breakfast was lovely, homemade granola and an assortment of fresh fruits- which to be honest was more than enough- but then there is an option of a cooked breakfast........iI had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs...........mmmmmm, the only downside was I am used to a buffet- and this is home cooked to order- so make sure you allow time to enjoy this!!
The only real downside is there is no private parking- so if you have lots of luggage or it's raining this may be a inconvenience, but it won't stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we thought we would try this out for ourselves as we was going to a friend's birthday party. We was not disappointed. We was greeted at the front door by Neil who took us into the lounge and offered us a complimentary drink. This went down very well as we had a fairly long drive on a hot day. We then went to our room (Mendosa) which was immaculate. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. The bar is a honesty bar and there is a little terrace at the front of the house to relax on and have a drink whilst overlooking the seafront. Neil was also very helpful and informative about the local area which proved to be very useful. Breakfast (which was very nice) was served by Teresa who was also very friendly, polite and helpful. All in all, a lovely place to stay. Would we stay again, definitely!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBE1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned home after staying at the wonderful Suenos Guest house, we had a thoroughly good time, every little detail was catered for, it was exceptionally clean, beautiful white extra thick towels were in the bath room, the bed was a dream, Theresa was lovely and very helpful, our morning breakfast was delicious with everything carefully planned for our satisfaction, and the home made granola was to die for, thank you so much, we hope to come back.

Room Tip: we had the Mendosa room which was at the back of the hotel although it would have been nice have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAX12399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Guest House

Property: Suenos Guest House
Address: 184 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England (Formerly Arosa Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Suenos Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suenos Guesthouse is an award winning five star luxury Guesthouse situated on the sea front in Thorpe Bay, Southend on Sea, Essex. We have 5 individually decorated en suite rooms with top quality facilities including egyptian cotton linen, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, luxury 'REN' toiletries. 'Teapigs' tea, fresh coffee, fresh milk, homemade biscuits,complimentary bottled water. Each room is equipped with flat screen smart TV, iron, safe, hairdryer and mini fridge. There is a welcoming guest lounge, with an honesty bar and an outside terrace with fabulous views. The full English breakfast is locally sourced and includes home made granola and preserves, as well as excellent cooked produce for which we have received a breakfast award. Your friendly hosts Neil & Teresa Jones offer a personal service and great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Suenos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing