We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse”
Review of Suenos Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suenos Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lovely room great hosts we love this guesthouse and will definitely be going again. Location right on the sea front and a short walk to the town . Close to some nice restaurants and bars or chill in the 24 hour honesty bar on the raised patio at the front.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

What an amazing find! This B&B ticks every single box.
Decor - Gorgeous. Really calming, elegant and understated.
Ambiance - Lovely warm, friendly owners. Their home is your home and nothing is too much trouble. This is not your typical B&B.
Amenities - Honesty bar, lovely terrace overlooking the sea, front room to chill out with radio playing quietly in the background. In your room you have tea pigs tea bags, fresh coffee (in an airtight jar, in your own fridge) and proper milk - How often do you get that! If that wasn't spoiling me enough, REN toiletries in the bathroom. Bliss...
Breakfast - Delicious
I genuinely cannot recommend Suenos enough, I loved my stay there. I had gone to Southend for my uncles funeral and wanted to spend one last night there to say goodbye to my childhood playground. I couldn't have asked for a better farewell. Thank-you.

Room Tip: The front room has a balcony and beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rememberyoureawomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Suenos while visiting family so didn't really get to enjoy all the benefits. However, the locate was very good and central.
The B&B itself is amazing and very comfortable. I was extremely impressed by the standard of the rooms and the little touches, i.e. the Ren products they provide to the honesty bar.
The breakfast really hit the spot as we had been drinking the evening before.
I highly recommend this B&B. Hope to return when we next visit our family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the moment we walked into Suenos we were made to feel extremely welcome; it is the only place that we have ever been offered a complimentary drink on arrival and we do quite a lot of travelling. It is simply wonderful and Teresa and Neil are to be congratulated on having such a beautiful B&B with contemporary features whilst retaining some lovely traditional design elements.

Our room was amazing. The little details were so thoughtful - binoculars to make the most of the Estuary view, fresh flowers, home made biscuits (delicious!), a fridge with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk as well as ground coffee, and a great selection of Teapigs tea bags was also provided, along with hot chocolate. There were even some playing cards.

There were also lovely thick bathrobes and slippers, and iron and ironing board and a safe. And some magazines to read whilst sitting on our balcony - nothing had been overlooked.

An I-Pod docking station was provided too. And as for the bathroom...... WOW!! Ren toiletries, huge fluffy bathtowels (to go with the huge freestanding bath) and a separate shower - it was absolutely gorgeous.

And then there was breakfast. Home made granola, various berries and locally sourced produce.

Teresa and Neil run Suenos by themselves and do so to an amazing standard - it is spotlessly clean.

There is plenty of free parking to the rear and my only hesitation in recommending it to others is that I may not get my favourite room next time I want it!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wanting somewhere to stay for our first year together we thought of Southend on sea, the typical travel lodge and premier inn were the first choices, then we stumbled across the Suenos Guest house, not being that more expensive from the others we looked at the pictures, which we know can sometimes seem to be to good to be true. This was not the case from the moment we arrived you couldn't ask for better service Neil gave us complimentary drinks and let us settle in before going through the paperwork. Neil then showed us to our room which was immaculate and everything you need for a weekend away Tea, Coffee homemade short bread biscuits etc. The bathroom was so clean you could eat your dinner in there!!, The overall atmosphere of the guest house was wonderful everyone spoke and Teresa was a gem at breakfast nothing was to much trouble. The full english went down a treat and really set you up for the day. From start to finish we couldn't find fault with anything at the Suenos. Would recommend the guest house to anyone. We will definitely be back :

Room Tip: Even the smaller room is perfect for a weekend get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a lovely Anniversary stay at The Suenos. It was short but totally sweet. Ample parking around the back & a few spaces on the road. Welcoming complimentary drink on arrival & Neil gave us a few pointers on dinner options. We sat outside on the Deck taking in the Seaview before being shown to our room.
We stayed in the Attic Room Atacama which has been tastefully decorated. Every luxury element has been thought of from the complimentary Water & Biscuits, Fresh coffee, selection of Teas, Robes, Slippers & Ren toiletries. Roll top bath in the centre of room was beautiful. We had a very restful night.
The Honesty Bar in the guest lounge is a great bonus & we enjoyed a nightcap in the lounge. Decor was totally our taste & Neil & Teresa have managed to marry old & contemporary styles perfectly.
Breakfast was good, although being a Raw Vegan I don't have diary products or Soya milk. Teresa did offer to go out & get some Almond milk which was very thoughtful. I was satisfied with the selection of fruit & Granola. My Husband enjoyed his Full English thoroughly with no complaints.
My expectations were fulfilled & we had a luxurious night stay away from our kids & grandkids. If we ever venture to Southend again we would definitely stay at the Suenos & I have already recommended to friends & family.
Congrats on your 5* definitely well deserved.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephcooke38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding on Southend Pier. A lovely luxurious B&B. warm friendly welcome and all our needs were met. Great sitting room with an honesty bar! Wonderful breakfast, wonderful service 5*

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
653 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Southend-on-Sea
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suenos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Guest House

Address: 184 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England (Formerly Arosa Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suenos Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suenos Guesthouse is an award winning five star luxury Guesthouse situated on the sea front in Thorpe Bay, Southend on Sea, Essex. We have 5 individually decorated en suite rooms with top quality facilities including egyptian cotton linen, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, luxury 'REN' toiletries. 'Teapigs' tea, fresh coffee, fresh milk, homemade biscuits,complimentary bottled water. Each room is equipped with flat screen smart TV, iron, safe, hairdryer and mini fridge. There is a welcoming guest lounge, with an honesty bar and an outside terrace with fabulous views. The full English breakfast is locally sourced and includes home made granola and preserves, as well as excellent cooked produce for which we have received a breakfast award. Your friendly hosts Neil & Teresa Jones offer a personal service and great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Suenos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing