We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“Amazing food and service”

Il Pescatore Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 663 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Italian Restaurant established since 1987
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

First time in this restaurant... What a find!! The food was fantastic, and the service was outstanding. We felt really looked after, we will definitely be back again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    129
    34
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant and service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been coming to this restaurant regularly for over 20 years and are always greeted warmly like old friends. Our usual waiter Durson (not sure how this is spelt) always remembers our order - we nearly always order the same thing. Our son is a fussy eater and they are always happy to cook him something which is not on the menu, this means such a lot when some restaurants are not willing to help.
It also has the best garlic bread you have ever had!
I'm sure we will continue to visit for many more years in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Even when your food is good, customer service is still important!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have been to this restaurant before - the pizzas and garlic bread are the best in the area - but the waiter's surliness rather ruined the experience. I would think twice about going here again due to this - if you are paying over £25 for coffee, pizza etc you don't really expect to leave feeling that the waiter begrudged even bringing you a menu!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 230lesliem230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian food in the heart of southend ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went to this Sicilian themed restaurant and the food and atmosphere was fantastic at il Pescatore I opted for the steak which came out exactly as I had asked and everyone else's meal was perfect and very tasty and to finish off with a homemade afters which are too many to list or eat but there selection of ice creams are to die for definitely going back great value also x

Helpful?
3 Thank tomsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited on a blustery saturday evening in May, although once through the doors we felt like we were eating out on holiday abroad. The decor was very reminicent of a traditional Italian restaurant and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly with a mix of families, couples and groups. The service was fantastic and there was a great selection of wines which my other half was delighted with. Sampled some Lemoncello and Grappa too and the food was fantastic. Crab salad and stuffed mushrooms to start. Tasty and well presented. Followed by fillet steaks, mine the dolcelate cheese which was so delicious and makes me wish we lived locally. Both were cooked to our liking and came with a salad garnish. The only down point was that we felt the price of the side order was excessive at £4.00 each and the menu did not state what this comprised of. There was no choice in what side you could have. We paid £8.00 two sides and were given a small scoop of saute potatoes each and small portion of carrot/broccolli. Would have preferred a choice of potatoes, veg, but the steak more than made up for this point. Huge choice of desserts which made it hard to choose,but the Gelati was very nice. Evening was made even more interesting by a lady on the next table setting fire to her napkin on the candle and burning a hole in the linen tablecloth. Disaster dealt with expertly by the waiting staff and laughed off in good spirits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Pescatore Restaurant also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Il Pescatore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing