We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and defo will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we loved it and defo will be back”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

what can i say fantastic place nice family run clean and great cook xxxx

Room Tip: we stayed in the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebladon7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
156
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June, while we were visiting London. We were staying in the Hamiltons Suite on the 2nd floor - this was a beautifully decorated room with lots of space, a great view over the sea from the 3 large windows, a very comfy kingsize bed, and an amazing shower. The only slightly negative point we could make would be that it took us quite a while to work out how to switch from terrestrial to digital on the TV, so it might be worth putting instructions in the room (we probably could've just gone down and asked for help but given that we're both tech-savvy 25 yr olds I was determined to work it out myself!).

The service throughout our stay from John and Rachel was second to none, they were extremely helpful and friendly and were the perfect hosts (John even made us breakfast at 7am one morning so we could leave early to go to Wimbledon!). Even though our room looked out onto the front we didn't have any problems with noise, and asides from a creaky floor overhead from the room above we rarely heard a peep from other guests either.

The location is great, just a 5 minute walk from both the bus and train stations (the c2c service to London Fenchurch St is £10 each way, or it's £19.50 for a day travelcard which can be used on all underground services too), is just around the corner from the main high street with all the shops, and is right next to the steps down to the promenade.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Hamiltons and would highly recommend it to anyone. Also, given that it's less than an hour on the train to the centre of London it's a great alternative to a city hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I chose this hotel on the recommendation of Tripadvisor - and its proximity to the rail station, and I wasn't disappointed. It's in a great location, just off the High Street, overlooking the pier and estuary, and very close to the bus station and the main rail station. I stayed in the Lady H room overlooking the back garden, so noise was not a problem - it was very comfortable, with a good tv and wifi, and it's right what other reviewers say about the showers - they're fabulous! I got a friendly welcome and the breakfasts were spot on (I had the veggie option). It's impossible to find fault with this hotel and at £80 a night it was great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This is a very well presented hotel. Rooms are decorated to a very high standard, we stayed in the lady h room and it was a very comfortable room, with a very equipped bathroom. the shower was a delight to my 9 year old daughter, who enjoyed the different jets! The bed was extremely comfortable with high qaulity bed linen. Breakfast was cooked to order and well presented.
The hotel is well located and yet removed from the noise and bustle of the promenade. Southend was seen from a different light this visit, staying in such a nice hotel, and also visiting the Mews restaurant made the trip even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid attic room if you are not good with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzilou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I never usually go to the trouble of writing reviews, but this gorgeous little hotel is worth it. We stayed on a Sunday and got a great rate for the Victory Suite. The room is beautifully decorated, huge, cleaner than you can imagine, with a comfortable bed, and an immaculate bathroom with a super big shower. There was parking out the front of the building and the location is super, just two minutes down the steps and you are on the main seafront. This place is a hidden little gem, and I whole heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated, the hotel is immaculately clean, really good breakfast, fantastic location, my husband and I had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_KHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My husband & I spent one night at this beautiful B & B located in Royal Terrace, Southend-On-Sea.
We stayed on the top floor of this charming house - in a spacious, light, airy, beautifully decorated room with views over the Estaury.
We are very fussy, however I could not find a single thing wrong with this lovely place !
Spotlessly clean, lots of attention to detail, delicious cooked breakfast but Continental breakfast was also available for you to help yourself to.
Lovely comfortable king sized bed with exquisite linen.
Very well located, parking is on a meter directly outside.
The owners of Beaches B & B down the road in Thorpe Bay could learn a lot from Hamiltons - especially regarding service & professionalism.
We would recommend this B & B to anyone and would go back there without hesitation.
Well worth the price !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingauntie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
502 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing