We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This gem of a boutique hotel is a fantastic find. Beautifully restored, right on the sea front, run by a family who could teach Alex Polizzi a thing or two!! The hotel is right in the heart of Southend within two minutes of shops, five minutes to the station. It looks absolutely beautiful as you approach, and once inside the warmth of the welcome and the wonderful care, attention and love that has gone into the restoration makes this a very special place. Everything is done to make visitors comfortable - splendid teas and coffee choice in the room, fantastic shower, massive flat screen telelvision and wonderfully comfortable beds with really luxurious bedding. Our room had a huge balcony and the weather was glorious so even though it was January we sat and read newspapers outside overlooking the pier. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly professional staff and the superb breakfast in the morning with a marvellous choice, cooked to perfection made this stay something to be relished and remembered.

Room Tip: We were on the front with a big lounge and balcony, but the level of hospitality and care means that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

When me and my girlfreind decided to stay at this b&b we were slightly weary of what to expect with its location and the fact that it is an independantly ran b&b. However, after walking through the front door and being greeted warmly by a very friendly lady, all of worries disappeared. We were led to our room to find we had been upgraded for free from the trafalger room to the lady h room. The room was stunning, exceptionally warm, inviting and clean. There were plenty of towels supplied and a fabulous selection of tea and coffee was laid out on a tray along with brown and white sugar, milk, two bottles of water aswell as biscuits. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was amazing soft and very clean. The bathroom was incredible with a heated towel rack and a power shower that had a overhead shower, jets on the unit and a moveable showerhead all which was very easy to operate. When you're in your room you forget your surroundings and feel completely at home. The included breakfast was fantastic with a wide selection ranging from fruit, yoghurt, cereals and a fried breakfast with tea or coffee and orange juice or apple juice laid out. Overall, we had an unforgettable stay, the hotel was exceptionally warm and inviting as were the people who ran it. We will definitely be staying again in the very near future. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. An amazing stay no question 5 stars definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan-Michael_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed for a Saturday night in the Trafalgar room at the back. This was small but perfectly adequate and really nicely decorated and very clean. It was also quiet and the bed was comfortable with lovely cotton sheets. Breakfast was very good quality and staff more than helpful. Will certainly be back when visit the area. A great value boutique hotel that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guildfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I booked the Hamilton Suite for a romantic weekend stay with my girlfriend and as soon as we stepped inside the room it was everything and more i had hoped for. Cant recommend the Hamilton Suite highly enough, beautifully decorated with a top class en-suite and shower. Breakfast was also to a very high standard. Will be recommending to others and will stay again when visiting Southend.

Room Tip: Lovely views from Hamilton Suite on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarknSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I needed to relax and cheer myself up.Just one night at Hamiltons Boutique Balcony Suite helped me to achieve my goal.An amazing view to the sea,boats,the longest pleasure pier in the world ,nice cosy restaurants and pubs within 2-5 min walk,good shopping centre 'Debenhams',T-K Maxx and loads more within your reach.
Very clean,cosy with a friendly owner and staff always ready to help.The owner can also give you the idea of places to go to musicwise in case you can't access wi fi.
It was really worth staying !

Room Tip: Liked all rooms except maybe the room in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My wife and i had a lovely weekend away in southend and stayed in this wonderful hotel . we stayed 2 nights in a lovely cosy room . We had a lovely breakfast and the shower was amazing . The hosts was very friendly and we look forward to visiting again soon .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DecandSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Really lovely B&B in the heart of Southend-on-Sea. Good views of the sea - 2 min walk to the pier, and right in the heart of the town.

We stayed in the Trafalgar room which was beautifully decorated and very bijou. For one night it was perfect, for longer stays you might want a slightly larger room. Our room was at the back of the b&b and as it was a hot night we had the window open, which due to the central location meant it was very noisy even at 4am in the morning. At the front of the hotel I would imagine you would be excluded from much of this noise.

However, this did not cause such an issue, and the next morning we used the waterfall shower which was very powerful and really good. A small tip to the b&b is that you cannot easily avoid getting your hair wet so a shower cap would of been a nice touch.

Breakfast was delicious in the very beautifully decorated breakfast room. Lovely strong coffee and a beautifully fresh fruit salad to help yourself to. We both had the cooked breakfast and it was excellent.

Only things lacking I could think of for an overnight stay are there were no tissues in the room and no shower cap but this is really nitpicking. It is a lovely b&b, beautiful bed linen, very good attentive service, good food and beautifully decorated.

A definate recommendation if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleprincesskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing