We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in great location”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel en route to our holiday destination and would highly recommend. The room was beautifully furnished, the decoration was immaculate and we had a great view of the pier. The on street parking is expensive but as we only needed a few hours of paid parking this wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisuretraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
153
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed in the Hamilton suite for just one night, it was so lovely, would of loved to stay longer, the room was amazing and so was the view. Breakfast was at a good time, and the fruit was really fresh, and alot of choice, followed by toast and a full english, (amazing).
Would highly reconmend staying here, we will definitely be coming back. location was perfect for the shops and the sea front.
Can not think of any thing negative to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: The Hamilton suite has a amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Was lucky enough to stay here for 4 nights and was really impressed. The building has been beautifully restored and retains a real charm. Nothing seems too much trouble for the owners, John and Janet.
There are lots of nice touches, quality towels and fittings and a really comfortable bed, even the coffee in the room was a jar of Gold Blend, not your usual sachets. The room and the hotel was spotlessly clean and it was obvious that great pride was taken in its appearance.
The breakfast was also excellent. The Dining room is absolutely charming, very light with chandeliers etc, with views over the estuary down to the pier.
Locationwise, for me it was excellent, being about 50 yards from the pedestrianised High Street and looks down onto the pier and amusements if that is your thing.
As far as parking goes, there are plenty of metered places outside, but it is possible to park free on road about 10 mins walk away.
I would certainly recommend Hamiltons if you are visiting the area, and I have already re-booked for my next visit to Southend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fittiworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Only stayed in this beautiful hotel for one night but it was absolutely immaculate. Spotlessly clean, lovely and warm and the room was really comfortable. Beautiful bed linen, tea & coffee making facilities, beautiful bathroom and luxurious towels. Only sorry I was only there for one night. Would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel and hope to return sometime soon

.

Room Tip: Stayed in double room but no doubt all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This gem of a boutique hotel is a fantastic find. Beautifully restored, right on the sea front, run by a family who could teach Alex Polizzi a thing or two!! The hotel is right in the heart of Southend within two minutes of shops, five minutes to the station. It looks absolutely beautiful as you approach, and once inside the warmth of the welcome and the wonderful care, attention and love that has gone into the restoration makes this a very special place. Everything is done to make visitors comfortable - splendid teas and coffee choice in the room, fantastic shower, massive flat screen telelvision and wonderfully comfortable beds with really luxurious bedding. Our room had a huge balcony and the weather was glorious so even though it was January we sat and read newspapers outside overlooking the pier. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly professional staff and the superb breakfast in the morning with a marvellous choice, cooked to perfection made this stay something to be relished and remembered.

Room Tip: We were on the front with a big lounge and balcony, but the level of hospitality and care means that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

When me and my girlfreind decided to stay at this b&b we were slightly weary of what to expect with its location and the fact that it is an independantly ran b&b. However, after walking through the front door and being greeted warmly by a very friendly lady, all of worries disappeared. We were led to our room to find we had been upgraded for free from the trafalger room to the lady h room. The room was stunning, exceptionally warm, inviting and clean. There were plenty of towels supplied and a fabulous selection of tea and coffee was laid out on a tray along with brown and white sugar, milk, two bottles of water aswell as biscuits. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was amazing soft and very clean. The bathroom was incredible with a heated towel rack and a power shower that had a overhead shower, jets on the unit and a moveable showerhead all which was very easy to operate. When you're in your room you forget your surroundings and feel completely at home. The included breakfast was fantastic with a wide selection ranging from fruit, yoghurt, cereals and a fried breakfast with tea or coffee and orange juice or apple juice laid out. Overall, we had an unforgettable stay, the hotel was exceptionally warm and inviting as were the people who ran it. We will definitely be staying again in the very near future. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. An amazing stay no question 5 stars definitely.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan-Michael_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed for a Saturday night in the Trafalgar room at the back. This was small but perfectly adequate and really nicely decorated and very clean. It was also quiet and the bed was comfortable with lovely cotton sheets. Breakfast was very good quality and staff more than helpful. Will certainly be back when visit the area. A great value boutique hotel that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guildfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing