We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room perfect view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect room perfect view”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

the train was delay, and both us 2 girls check in by 1AM mid-night, dear John kep contact with us via phone, and waiting us, picked up package for us...
Very comfortable bed and extremely clean room. Breakfast was lovely very relaxing and a great start to the day.
the room was just perfect for 2 girls, so sweet.
will come back every year XXXxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ying z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    42
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
160
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My family booked 5 rooms for 24th August as we were going to attend a family wedding in Southend. We were lucky enough to get parking outside. The rooms were clean and very welcoming. I had the family room as we had our two grand daughters staying with us. It is very big and has a door that can be closed, making it into two rooms. Ideal if the children were older and wanted some privacy. The children soon found the bowl of quality sweets, a lovely touch.There is also a fridge and a microwave with crcokery and cutlery, a very good idea. The breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and made to any preference. My newly married son and daughter in law's room overlooked the front of the hotel, and had a view of the sea. The furnishings and attention to detail made our short overnight stay extra special. This hotel would be the only place for me to book if I needed an overnight stay in Southend. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ro51e5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay in the Hamilton Suite - couldn't fault a thing. Perfect room with a perfect view. Very comfortable bed and extremely clean room. Breakfast was lovely very relaxing and a great start to the day. Would highly recommend this hotel and there are some nice restaurants in the area - we found a very nice Italian. Southend was very clean and tidy. Excellent place for a weekend away,

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjhinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel last week for one night. We had the 'Hamilton' room and my son and his wife had the room above. The staff were very helpful on every occassion. We stayed at the same time as the previous contributor and I have to disagree with some of her points although I didn't see her room. Our room was clean although I didn't go looking for dust or grime, I just didn't notice any. The stair carpet seemed adequate and I certainly wouldn't mark a small hotel down for scuff marks on the wall, particularly mid-season. I do understand that if your first impression is bad then you may go looking for other issues.
Our room was light and airy and you could lay in bed and have a good view over the Estuary. There appears to be a new shower in the en-suite and again this worked well and no problem with hot water. Could do with a loo brush in there.
Breakfast was quite extensive choice wise and the hot English selection was very good and promptly delivered. Coffee was also strong enough for me.
I'm not sure that there are disabled facilities and would say that I doubt if they could provide such facilities in reality.
We had a good stay at the hotel and have no complaints. The cost for the two rooms was also reasonable. Yes I would go back, if I had to stay in Southend.
I believe it has wi-fi but I didn't try it. There was info about wi-fi code in the manual in the room.

Room Tip: The Hamilton room has a lovely view and is bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muppet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked the Balcony suite, which was nice BUT had NOT had a good thorough clean for YEARS! The un emptied, grimey bin had chewing gum on the floor by it. Not a great Welcome! We had arranged for a put u up bed in the lounge, which was not made up. On making up the bed we found the springs had stretched, making the bed into a "Banana"! So our child slept on the sofa along with the previous guests biscuit crumbs! The floors were dusty and sticky in places, as was the sofa and table. The mantle piece was THICK with DIRT and other people's safty pins etc, which had been there along time. Although there were mirrors (all of which needed a dam good clean), there was not a single full length the mirror in the place, which made dressing for a wedding difficult. There were hairs, fluff and dust in the drawers, along with bits left by previous guests. The shower room also needed a proper clean. The toothbrush holder was really filthy inside, the soap dispenser empty, and the towel rail, cupbords inside and out, etc all in need of a good thorough clean. The toilet roll holder was partly hanging off the wall, causing the roll to persistantly fall off onto the floor. There were two towels and one flannel between the three of us! Often on using the sink, the shower would would fill up with brown water from the plug hole! This along with the two "quality street" sweets in a dusty dish, made it clear that we were not respected or valuable guests. Many of the walls need de scuffing, wipping/paining over. And the stair and bedroom carpets a good wash. No attention to detail. Sadly the only thing that resembled a Hotel were the prices! The housekeeper should have been sacked a very long time ago! However, the Breakfasts were faultless! Generous, good quality food well cooked! Shame the breakfast room was not well cleaned! Three nights cost us three £420. For this we should have received basic cleanliness/tourist Board Standards. In a word "Sloppy". :-(

Room Tip: If you dont like paying top prices to stay in other peoples dirt, dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slowley, Owner at Hamiltons Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. On your departure we assessed the areas that you say had not been cleaned for years? We are completely mystified at your comments. We are family run and very proud of our establishment. Our rooms are cleaned to a very high standard. The Balcony Suite is normally for 2 people, but we agreed for your daughter to stay, who was almost a grown adult, at no extra cost. We would not normally recommend a put up bed for any adult but we did test them out and found them to be perfectly adequate for a short stay. We had not made up the bed on this occasion to allow you more space. You were absolutely correct, the toilet roll holder was wobbly and we have adjusted this, thank you. I am sure that people reading your review will question your comments as we would surely have had others similar if this was the case. Also the fact that you also own a B & B yourself, makes me question your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We chose Hamiltons Boutique as a base for travelling to London to see Olympic Events. Its proximity to rail stations and short travel time directly to Stratford station and central London were fantastic and as a bonus we had great sea views (for the few times that we were there).

The Hotel has a recently decorated and fresh feel throughout and the period decor in the bedrooms is superb.

The breakfast choice is also ideal and served at a decent time with no need for 7am rises. The accommodation is a credit to the owners.

Points to ponder:

There is free WiFi throughout the house, but its range meant that the room we stayed in (Nelson's Lookout) was not covered. We were on the top floor. A cable was provided, but as with the modern way all my devices were WiFi and this did not help.

Parking is a small issue with no free parking in close proximity to the Hotel. Free on street parking is available in nearby residential areas and for our purposes this was fine. The choice is to pay for on street parking in front of the hotel, or in a car park immediately to the rear (both reasonable). For those not afraid of a 10 minute walk the on street parking is fine.

These points were no distractors to our stay and are merely offered as useful information.

Room Tip: Our room Nelson's lookout is at the top of the Hotel and offers views out to sea and of the famo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lovely hotel with sparkly rooms, gorgeous furniture, fresh flowers in the entrance and a lovely view from the front. Yummy breakfast too, (we ate fresh fruit, yoghurt, poached eggs and toast with tea and juice). My friend and I stayed in the Nelson's Lookout room (a twin) which was £90 each for a two evening stay. We liked the linen, the cute lights in the bathroom and the rain shower. The owners were friendly and helpful too. We found chocolates, tea and biscuits in our room upon arrival which was nice. Wifi is available but we couldn't get any signal from our top floor room. The only problem we had was that our room was quite hot at night (it had been 29C during the day)... we also struggled a bit with parking but the owner gave us some advice and we found a space nearby. Overall we had a lovely stay, thanks!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing