We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have just returned from a business trip in Southend on Sea and was delighted to have been recommended this hotel. It was faultless! From the friendly staff, to the beautiful bedrooms, I could not have had a better stay. I stayed in "Nelson's Lookout" the light and airy bedroom with a beautiful view of the estuary, it was the perfect setting. I was provided with wifi codes on arrival therefore could continue with my work in peace. Reading previous reviews on this page, it seems we stayed in a different hotel!

I would highly recommend this little retreat and will be back....soon i hope!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    41
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
149
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This place is fine for a holiday although rooms are small. But for business traveling I would expect a desk and chair which wasn't in my room. Also no wifi on top floor. Food was ok but not available until eight am.... late when my office opens at 8.30. Late for work!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slowley, Owner at Hamiltons Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments. We do have a seating area in all of our rooms, with the exception of Trafalgar, which is a small double and priced to reflect its size. We have free Wifi in all rooms and there are cables available to "plug in" if having any difficulties. We have since checked and did not experience any difficulties. However we will now look into a booster for the top floor. Breakfast in the week is set from 8 but on the menu in the room, does say to request an earlier breakfast if needed, which would not have been a problem. We do hope that you will return and hope that we can rectify these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

After a 12 day road trip to some amazing UK destinations this was the last hotel on our stop and I have to say it was fantastic. We stopped in the Trafalgar room which was at the back of the hotel. The room was a good size, very clean and well decorated.

The tea tray was the best stocked of any that we have stayed in. 2 bottles of water, lots of milk, a jar of coffee and lots of teabags.

The location is fabulous, Literally just off the main shopping centre and overlooking the pier and seafront. Parking wasn't too clever as it was a very busy Sunday lunchtime when we arrived so we had to go searching for a place but still within a few minutes walk.

Breakfast was superb. The selection of fresh fruit and fruit salad was really good. Lots of choice of cereal and yoghurts and very good quality items on the cooked breakfast. Good sausages are a must on a cooked breakfast and these were very tasty.

As we were only stopping 1 night I initially booked this more for the location and the price. However I was extremely impressed, would highly recommend others to stop here and would not hesitate to go back myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaCruxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Date of stay- Friday 7th September 2012
I really can't say enough how much I loved staying here! The hotel is gorgeous, boutique down to a T.
Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Balcony suite and it is beautiful, I only wish we'd stayed for more than 1 night to make the most of it. The suite has a separate lounge/dining room that has a large flat screen tv and comfy sofas and a dining table and chairs. In the bedroom the decor is lovely with a butterfly design and the ensuite is a good size with a rain shower.
The highlight for me was the balcony and view, we woke up to a hot summer's day so sat on the balcony listening to music and enjoying the view of the pier and seafront.
The breakfast was amazing, we had fresh fruit, yoghurt, tea/coffee, juice and a full English with toast.
John and Rachel who run the hotel are lovely, welcoming and helpful :o)
Although me and my boyfriend live in Southend, we wanted to stay away from our homes for the night but not in one of the commercial hotel chains so was nice to support a local family run boutique hotel. It also made us realise and appreciate how nice it is to live by the sea and that Southend can be beautiful.
A big thank you, will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsbels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for our Wedding night in August 2012 and hired out 3 room for 2 nights. Rooms are stylish, contemporary and well decorated. Service was professional, friendly and efficient. Breakfast included lovely fresh fruit cocktail and a calming ambience. Super location and great value for money. The Balcony also made for great photos! Loved it - A*!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessPink653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

the train was delay, and both us 2 girls check in by 1AM mid-night, dear John kep contact with us via phone, and waiting us, picked up package for us...
Very comfortable bed and extremely clean room. Breakfast was lovely very relaxing and a great start to the day.
the room was just perfect for 2 girls, so sweet.
will come back every year XXXxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ying z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

My family booked 5 rooms for 24th August as we were going to attend a family wedding in Southend. We were lucky enough to get parking outside. The rooms were clean and very welcoming. I had the family room as we had our two grand daughters staying with us. It is very big and has a door that can be closed, making it into two rooms. Ideal if the children were older and wanted some privacy. The children soon found the bowl of quality sweets, a lovely touch.There is also a fridge and a microwave with crcokery and cutlery, a very good idea. The breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and made to any preference. My newly married son and daughter in law's room overlooked the front of the hotel, and had a view of the sea. The furnishings and attention to detail made our short overnight stay extra special. This hotel would be the only place for me to book if I needed an overnight stay in Southend. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ro51e5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing