We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home From Home...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Home From Home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Working away from home during the week, you want somewhere that's inviting, comfortable, with great service and great food.

Hamilton's Boutique Hotel ticks all the boxes for me and given that I have stayed here for 4 nights a week for the last 4 months already must say something.

I have no intentions of staying anywhere else.

Long may it continue...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garrysteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    41
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
146
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We needed to make a last minute booking following a business trip and Hamiltons Boutique Hotel was a perfect choice. Rachel and Jane were both very friendly and exceedingly helpful giving tips on where to eat and drink in the evening. The room we stopped in was full of character, clean and perfect location and it had the best shower we've ever had in a B & B or hotel! We don't travel down to the South that much, but will definitely be stopping here again.

Room Tip: Hamiltons Room absolutely perfect - overlooking the sea, spacious room with kingsize bed and perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hamiltons Boutique Hotel is one of the most charming little B&B's I have stayed in. Full of character and old English charm, it is a welcome gem on the Southend hotel scene in the beautiful conservation area.

The rooms all looked so beautiful and well designed in the pictures and my room, whilst one of the smaller rooms and up in the attic, did not disappoint. 'Horatia' was full of charisma, but with all the mod cons necessary for my stay and I actually enjoyed being up in the attic, as it had more of an ambiance.

The staff were so friendly and down to Earth and they rustled up a superb cooked breakfast in the morning.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Southend, as originally coming from the area myself, I have not seen any other hotels that compare in terms of location and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetting_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great place to stay if you want privacy , clean , great location , the only thing it needs is a real fridge and open fire would make it perfect , I stayed in the suite with a balcony ,stayed for new year 13/14 .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice now and thought it appropriate to give credit where its due.
The people who own it, run it, clean it etc etc are exceptionally friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Although the Lady Hamilton suite is not my colour (pink theme) I will be returning in March 2014 and whenever I am in that part of the country.
Thoroughly recommended and tremendous VFM.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This is a gem of a boutique hotel. It's situated perfectly in Southend. Right on the seafront, close to the main town and all the attractions and bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful. We stayed in the Victory Suite which can accommodate a large family (we are 2 adults, 2 children and a baby). The room was a brilliant size. And didn't skimp on the luxury either. Beautiful pillows and decor. It also had the added bonus of a little kitchenette with microwave, fridge etc. The cupboards were stocked with free water, abundance of tea and coffee and biscuits. The owners are friendly and helpful and happy. The room was cleaned to perfection every morning and the breakfast is devine!!!!!

Free wifi in the rooms and also had a little pack in the room explaining all the local attractions, restaurants etc.

The dining room is quaint and beautifully decorated with the most amazing windows over looking the sea. And the prices for the rooms are just brilliant as well.

It takes a lot to impress me and I was impressed. It's great for families but also if you are a couple wanting a romantic weekend away (sadly long gone are those for me with 3 kids!!!). It's a boutique hotel at its best. Please give this hotel a try!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsacowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Boutique obviously means compact as the room was tiny, and for a big clumsy chap like me I'd have liked a little more space. To get the minor grumbles out of the way first the wifi didn't reach as far as the second floor, which was ok for me as I just tethered, but could be expensive for others, and I don't think synthetic duvet and pillow fillings are really that boutique, though handy if you have an allergy or are thinking of getting one. Moaning aside, and these issues genuinely didn't detract, this is a friendly, reasonably priced hotel right in the centre (though a bit too close to the bleakly Stalinist pedestrianised High St) and Royal Terrace is a gorgeously preserved Georgian esplanade. It's pristine, abundant in towels and does not skimp on breakfast. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkie_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing