We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hamiltons Boutique was lovely. I had a warm welcome and was shown to the Lady Hamilton room by Rachel. It was clean comfortable and warm - just right after a day's work and a journey. I wondered about parking but that was no problem. There were plenty of spaces in the very quiet street outside. It's free between 18.00 and 09.00.

Rachel's a native of the area and gave me a map and suggestions for places for an evening meal - very helpful.

The morning breakfast was terrific. Proper napkins, an elegant dining room, gentle Classic FM playing in the background. You order breakfast from the menu, so it's freshly cooked and there was plenty of choice.

I'd go back there like a shot. It was one of the nicest, relaxing and most comfortable places I've ever stayed in. I paid £63.75 for the room, breakfast included which is brilliant. Thank you. (Ian Stevens - Milton Keynes)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    41
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
145
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

One of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in!!

Very welcoming, immaculate rooms and public areas. Breakfast was superb, I could not fault this independent and charming hotel.

Stayed here twice last year and staying again very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms beautifully and immaculately decorated. The room with the balcony would make for a very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macgeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have been to Southend on business a couple of times before and stayed in pretty unmemorable places. However I had seen Hamiltons and decided this time I'd stay there. And I wasn't disappointed! The place has been renovated to a high standard and is very stylish and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and the owner ordered me a taxi and waved me off at the front door, it set me up in a good mood for the rest of the day. Perfect for a business trip or a break in Southend, about 10 mins walk from central station and overlooks the estuary.

Room Tip: I stayed in Lady Hamilton room at the back and it was lovely but I am sure all the other rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyJD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Working away from home during the week, you want somewhere that's inviting, comfortable, with great service and great food.

Hamilton's Boutique Hotel ticks all the boxes for me and given that I have stayed here for 4 nights a week for the last 4 months already must say something.

I have no intentions of staying anywhere else.

Long may it continue...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garrysteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We needed to make a last minute booking following a business trip and Hamiltons Boutique Hotel was a perfect choice. Rachel and Jane were both very friendly and exceedingly helpful giving tips on where to eat and drink in the evening. The room we stopped in was full of character, clean and perfect location and it had the best shower we've ever had in a B & B or hotel! We don't travel down to the South that much, but will definitely be stopping here again.

Room Tip: Hamiltons Room absolutely perfect - overlooking the sea, spacious room with kingsize bed and perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hamiltons Boutique Hotel is one of the most charming little B&B's I have stayed in. Full of character and old English charm, it is a welcome gem on the Southend hotel scene in the beautiful conservation area.

The rooms all looked so beautiful and well designed in the pictures and my room, whilst one of the smaller rooms and up in the attic, did not disappoint. 'Horatia' was full of charisma, but with all the mod cons necessary for my stay and I actually enjoyed being up in the attic, as it had more of an ambiance.

The staff were so friendly and down to Earth and they rustled up a superb cooked breakfast in the morning.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Southend, as originally coming from the area myself, I have not seen any other hotels that compare in terms of location and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetting_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great place to stay if you want privacy , clean , great location , the only thing it needs is a real fridge and open fire would make it perfect , I stayed in the suite with a balcony ,stayed for new year 13/14 .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing