We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great central location on Royal Mews, easy access to sea front, High Street and pleasant walk to Cliffs Pavilion Theatre. Good value parking in public car park to rear of hotel. Looked delightful from the outside and equally so once we went in. Lovely welcome, felt instantly at home. Our room (The Trafalgar) was a small double, beautifully furnished, comfy bed and a good shower in the bijou ensuite. Certainly more than enough for a couple of days away. The care & attention to detail was evident throughout the hotel. It's clear that the owners really care about this little gem of a hotel & their guests. Individual, elegant yet homely.
Breakfast was absolutely lovely, among the best we have had in any hotel & certainly a huge cut above your big chains. The food was delicious, eggs poached to perfection & great quality bacon and sausage.
If our room was anything to go by the rest must surely be of a terrific standard & I certainly envied those lucky guests in the Balcony Suite. A lovely place to stay in Southend.

Room Tip: Though there was nothing wrong at all with The Trafalgar Room (good value) go for a larger one if s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
153
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

It was so nice to go to a hotel and it be the standard you are used to . All the people that attended to us were lovely and very professional . The room was very clean and the breakfast was scrumy .
I also liked that we were left alone to enjoy our great weekend in southend . We will definitely be returning . Will be recommending hamilton 's to family .

Room Tip: They all look beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked afternoon tea for daughters 40th and couldn't have been more pleased. We had the whole dining room and the tea was lovely. Catered for 1 gluten-free as well, which as the cakes were all freshly made was very helpful. Service was great without being intrusive and they didn't rush us out. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canary Islands, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very enjoyable stay,comfortable bed and great breakfast but I would suggest a little more care with the description.Boutique Hoteles offer extra large bath towels,bath robes with the option to buy,slippers none of these were on offer.Trafalgar room had no CD or DVD player and to describe the room Family/oversize in the general description contravenes the Trade Description Act.None of this bothered me as for what I was paying I knew these would not be an option,as it was a short stay I felt no need to take these points up with the staff or owner.My rating is a very recomendable upmarket B.& B but don´t expecet Boutique.

Room Tip: Trafalgar good for couples who know each other very well.Room is small so need to calculate your mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slowley, Manager at Hamiltons Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Graham. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for 'oversized' being in the room description, this is a web designer error, they have obviously used copy and paste for the rooms. I will have this removed. Trafalgar is our small double and priced at £65 per night, including breakfast, reflects this. We are a Guest House not a hotel, and the word Boutique means small stylish and individual, as we are, not dressing gown and slippers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is situated on the sea front just 15 minutes walk from Southend Central railway station, down the pedestrians only High Street (lots of shops). I stayed in the Trafalgar room on the rear side of the hotel (no view but no noise whatsoever at night which was much appreciated), The room itself was spotlessly clean and well-equipped - perfect for one person but a bit small for a couple. The staff were very friendly and the full English breakfast choice was excellent. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at Hamilton's Boutique every week, 5 days a week for 4 months during a work secondment in Southend. In essence, I was at Hamiltons more than my own home!

I had the same room, the Victory Suite, which was tastefully decorated and felt very luxurious with a marble bathroom and amazing state of the art power shower (just what I needed on cold Southend winter nights!).

Rachel, John, Jane and the rest of the team were so lovely, I will miss not seeing them every morning with my breakfast prepared for me in advance to take to work! They couldn’t have been more accommodating or generous with my unusual requests and never made me feel like I was asking too much. They were always friendly, warm and inviting - just what I needed whilst working away from home.

The room was always cleaned beautifully, with tea and coffee facilities and a small kitchenette.

I will miss Hamiltons Boutique, I can't imagine a better B&B!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Enjoyed by night at hamiltons. Comfortable bed, nice to have a DVD player so I could watch my own film rather than the free view offering. Nice touches with water, coffee biscuits etc in the room. A nice quality breakfast too in a relaxed environment. Only downside was the parking which is only free outside between 6pm and 9am.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveFrenchie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing