We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Business Stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well what can i say..... I must say this is the best B&B I have ever stayed in, the staff are very friendly and helpful. I booked the suite room, and boy was I impressed when my daughter and I were shown to our suite, the living area was beautiful and the old fashion balcony was divine. They bedroom was ample in size with a toliet and shower room. The breaskfast was lovely and you did not have long to wait. I would highly recommend this B&B it is outstanding

Room Tip: If you dont mind paying that little extra I would definaltly recommend the Balcony Suite room it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ13121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    43
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
163
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed overnight in this gorgeous boutique B&B, while looking over some property in Southend. We were greeted by the owner, who was lovely, and made us feel very welcome. We booked into The Trafalgar Room, a cosy double. It was a little snug, but hey ho, for a couple is fine. The decor was lovely. Quirky furniture and beautiful toile wallpaper. Lovel multi coloured chandeliar. Possibly, the modern pattern on roller blind didn't work with style of rest of decor. Just a tiny observation. The tea & coffee tray brilliant. Vast quantities of coffee, tea, sugar & milk. Not the usual sparse portions supplied by B&b's . Bottled water & quality biscuits were also provided with generous sized mugs. Nice touches like crystal glass sugar container and also a magazine left by the bedside, with a portfolio of the b&b, containing recommendations on places to eat etc. The en suite bathroom with shower enclosure, was fine. Nice touches like vintage mirror, soap dispenser etc. We awoke after a comfortable nights sleep, looking forward to breakfast. We were not disappointed. Fruit, yoghurt, choice of cereals and a wonderful home made fruit salad were laid out to help oneself. Jams and honey in miniature pots and lovely white china with huge cups were supplied on each table. We both ordered coffee and got a cafetiere each, which was nice. A little suggestion, for such a luxurious b&b, is to replace the portions of butter and marmalade in plastic packs & sachets of tomato sauce. We have stayed in a lot of high end B&b's & hotels, yours being one of the best :) but they usually either put cut portions of butter out per table, little ramekins of tomato ketchup or communally laid out in dishes( bar the plastic packets) near the cereals etc to help oneself. Looks so much nicer, is no more expensive and can still be hygienic as serving spoon/ knife supplied. The cooked breakfast, was amazing. Best we have had, with fine good quality ingredients. Compliments to the chef...the owner. She came out to say hello, ( nice touch) when we just finished, in her white apron/ chef whites. The breakfast dining room, was lovely, looking out, one could see the estuary. 2 comfy Sofa's to read one of the plentiful books in hallway & a supply of magazines if one wished to linger in the breakfast room. Afternoon tea with home made goodies is served as an option for larger groups. Would be lovely if it could also be for couples / minimum of two, as would have loved to experience it. Hamilton's is wonderful. A gorgeously luxurious b&b more akin to a small luxury hotel. we loved it, and the staff and owner really made our stay fabulous. We can't wait to return :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHoneybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute night in Southend after work trip to London. Would usually go for one of the chains, but this time thought we'd try something a little different. We were very glad we did. I don't want to call it a B&B as this place is much more than the image a B&B bring to my mind.

We were given the top for room by the warm and friendly landlady. It had a great view over the Thames estuary and was as if we were the first people ever to have been given this room- it was immaculate and spotlessly clean. Tastefully decorated and with an absolutely awesome shower, I could have quite happily moved in for the week or longer. The owners recommended a great Indian for our evening meal; they weren't wrong. And the Railway pub for a few pints.

We chose full English for breakfast, great quality and cooked well, there were also cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juices, all included in the room price. Couldn't fault it. We left our bags while we spent a good few hours looking around the town before catching the train home.

If you are planning to stay in Southend you won't go wrong booking the Hamiltons. I'll be looking further than the usual chains next time we have a night away!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SheldonB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here recently on for a long weekend away and loved it. Rooms very well appointed, clean, tidy, comfortable, regularly serviced and the whole place has a good dash of style. All the staff very helpful and breakfast was excellent. Perfectly located near the pier, shops, restaurants and seafront entertainment.

Hamilton's may not be the best place if you're a super light sleeper, the fun park and the nightclub on the corner can go on late. The WiFi is also a no-starter for the rooms in the upper floors so a few repeaters wouldn't go amiss, you can connect your laptop to a wired socket but if you take your iPad or similar that's not an option. Minor things, I would return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was lucky enough to be booked into the balcony suite for a birthday surprise. The room had been decorated ready for our arrival. The balcony suite is a lovely room with an enormous living area with a comfy bedroom with ensuite. The balcony overlooks the theme park, sea and pier and is a great spot for an evening drink, and then only a short stroll into town. The breakfast was delicious and cooked perfectly and real french press coffee is served! The only downside I found was that the bedroom blinds are quite thin and let through quite a bit of light in the morning, but that wouldn't stop me from staying here again.

Room Tip: The balcony suite has lots of space in the living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My family are all from outside of the area so we needed somewhere to stay for my wedding. The 7 rooms were perfect for this, as we used all of them! The largest room we used for getting ready, and photos of us when we were all dressed up. The rooms are indescribable! Te amount of thought and effort gone into each tiny details is just incredible. To top it of staff were amazing, the place was spotless and breakfast was really good! Thank you all so much for everything.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachelkimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for my sisters wedding and it was perfect. The rooms were stunning, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly.
The balcony suite was the perfect place for a bridal party to get ready, large lounge area which was perfect for photographs.
I'd recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reebs1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing