We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southend retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely little hotel with excellent service provided by all! Breakfast was freshly cooked and served with a smile, if I'm back in Southend I know where I'll be staying!
We were staying for two nights and it's ideally placed for a stay in the town with great views. I Hate to be negative but I would add a word of warning, while our room was spotless and very quirky it was at the top of a large stair case, however it's fair to say we were offered help with our luggage. Thanks for your hospitality!!!

Room Tip: The balcony suite looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We got married at the Pavilion on Southend Pier on Saturday, and had Hamilton's booked for the Friday and Saturday nights with family and friends. It was a perfect stay. Rachel, John and Retta were lovely - not in our faces, but always close by when we needed them. The rooms are decorated beautifully in different themes. Nu Hubby and I were in the Balcony Suite, which was ideal - a huge lounge area with separate bedroom so there was loads of room to get ready, comfy sofas and a huge tv. The balcony was a delight and the perfect space to have a chill and a gaze out onto the pier. Breakfast was excellent, especially the full English on Sunday morning! We have no hesitation in recommending this gorgeous b&b to anyone!

Room Tip: The Balcony Suite and Hamilton Suites are perfect for romantic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialK610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I travelled to Southend to attend a family event and stayed for one night in the Hamilton Suite. This is a lovely bright spacious room with 3 windows overlooking the Esplanade with views of the amusement park and pier. The bed is king-size and was comfortable and there is a small sofa. The ensuite bathroom is also spacious and is equipped with a large powerful shower including body jets. The toiletries provided are confined to mini containers of soap, shampoo and lotion.

Having been provided the opportunity to view the other bedrooms we would say the Hamilton is the nicest. The popular balcony room sits beneath the Hamilton and therefore has similar views but the sleeping area is separate and the suite seemed a little darker and more austere. Accordingly, unless you have a penchant for sitting on a very narrow balcony (watching the rain!) then I consider the Hamilton is much better value. The other bedrooms are quite small by comparison.
The accommodation is incredibly clean throughout. The owners were convivial, helpful and accommodating.

We enjoyed the breakfast. A choice of cereals was available and there was a predominantly grape based fruit cocktail. The ‘full English’ was excellent with good quality bacon and sausage. In fairness, the owner could have been a little more attentive in enquiring whether extra toast and a fresh pot of tea were required.

It is unfortunate that parking is an issue. The meters are both prolific and expensive - £4.50 for 3 hours. The car parks are cheaper but invariably full with drivers jockeying for position. The owners kindly provided a map showing where free residential parking was available but we failed to find a vacant spot during our stay unless prepared to park a considerable distance away. Fortunately, overnight meter parking is free (6pm to 9am)

Notwithstanding the parking problem, we enjoyed a comfortable stay and on balance I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hamilton’s Boutique Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnyCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well what can i say..... I must say this is the best B&B I have ever stayed in, the staff are very friendly and helpful. I booked the suite room, and boy was I impressed when my daughter and I were shown to our suite, the living area was beautiful and the old fashion balcony was divine. They bedroom was ample in size with a toliet and shower room. The breaskfast was lovely and you did not have long to wait. I would highly recommend this B&B it is outstanding

Room Tip: If you dont mind paying that little extra I would definaltly recommend the Balcony Suite room it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJ13121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed overnight in this gorgeous boutique B&B, while looking over some property in Southend. We were greeted by the owner, who was lovely, and made us feel very welcome. We booked into The Trafalgar Room, a cosy double. It was a little snug, but hey ho, for a couple is fine. The decor was lovely. Quirky furniture and beautiful toile wallpaper. Lovel multi coloured chandeliar. Possibly, the modern pattern on roller blind didn't work with style of rest of decor. Just a tiny observation. The tea & coffee tray brilliant. Vast quantities of coffee, tea, sugar & milk. Not the usual sparse portions supplied by B&b's . Bottled water & quality biscuits were also provided with generous sized mugs. Nice touches like crystal glass sugar container and also a magazine left by the bedside, with a portfolio of the b&b, containing recommendations on places to eat etc. The en suite bathroom with shower enclosure, was fine. Nice touches like vintage mirror, soap dispenser etc. We awoke after a comfortable nights sleep, looking forward to breakfast. We were not disappointed. Fruit, yoghurt, choice of cereals and a wonderful home made fruit salad were laid out to help oneself. Jams and honey in miniature pots and lovely white china with huge cups were supplied on each table. We both ordered coffee and got a cafetiere each, which was nice. A little suggestion, for such a luxurious b&b, is to replace the portions of butter and marmalade in plastic packs & sachets of tomato sauce. We have stayed in a lot of high end B&b's & hotels, yours being one of the best :) but they usually either put cut portions of butter out per table, little ramekins of tomato ketchup or communally laid out in dishes( bar the plastic packets) near the cereals etc to help oneself. Looks so much nicer, is no more expensive and can still be hygienic as serving spoon/ knife supplied. The cooked breakfast, was amazing. Best we have had, with fine good quality ingredients. Compliments to the chef...the owner. She came out to say hello, ( nice touch) when we just finished, in her white apron/ chef whites. The breakfast dining room, was lovely, looking out, one could see the estuary. 2 comfy Sofa's to read one of the plentiful books in hallway & a supply of magazines if one wished to linger in the breakfast room. Afternoon tea with home made goodies is served as an option for larger groups. Would be lovely if it could also be for couples / minimum of two, as would have loved to experience it. Hamilton's is wonderful. A gorgeously luxurious b&b more akin to a small luxury hotel. we loved it, and the staff and owner really made our stay fabulous. We can't wait to return :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHoneybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked a last minute night in Southend after work trip to London. Would usually go for one of the chains, but this time thought we'd try something a little different. We were very glad we did. I don't want to call it a B&B as this place is much more than the image a B&B bring to my mind.

We were given the top for room by the warm and friendly landlady. It had a great view over the Thames estuary and was as if we were the first people ever to have been given this room- it was immaculate and spotlessly clean. Tastefully decorated and with an absolutely awesome shower, I could have quite happily moved in for the week or longer. The owners recommended a great Indian for our evening meal; they weren't wrong. And the Railway pub for a few pints.

We chose full English for breakfast, great quality and cooked well, there were also cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juices, all included in the room price. Couldn't fault it. We left our bags while we spent a good few hours looking around the town before catching the train home.

If you are planning to stay in Southend you won't go wrong booking the Hamiltons. I'll be looking further than the usual chains next time we have a night away!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SheldonB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here recently on for a long weekend away and loved it. Rooms very well appointed, clean, tidy, comfortable, regularly serviced and the whole place has a good dash of style. All the staff very helpful and breakfast was excellent. Perfectly located near the pier, shops, restaurants and seafront entertainment.

Hamilton's may not be the best place if you're a super light sleeper, the fun park and the nightclub on the corner can go on late. The WiFi is also a no-starter for the rooms in the upper floors so a few repeaters wouldn't go amiss, you can connect your laptop to a wired socket but if you take your iPad or similar that's not an option. Minor things, I would return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing