We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful B&B on the Essex seafront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Hamiltons Boutique Hotel in Southend. Rachel and John are the perfect hosts and went out of their way to make the experience far exceed our hopes and expectations. The hotel/B&B is fabulous - the rooms are furnished to an exceptionally high standard, each with an individual touch. The beds were especially comfortable and showers were luxurious. The dining room is warm and welcoming, with decor and furniture akin to a top restaurant- the breakfast was delicious too. The location of the hotel is central yet quiet, with beautiful sea views. All in all, it was a faultless stay at a gorgeous hotel, that was so much more than a standard B&B. Thank you so much for having us - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

what a lovely hotel the room we stayed in was the hamilton overlooking the sea front the shower was the best i have used,great breakfast and really nice owners will definitely stay there again
irvin and jolanta

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irvinjolanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Took three rooms for the weekend, and cannot praise the hotel and staff too highly. The location is perfect, on the sea cliff overlooking the pier, and in the Royal Terrace, a lovely Regency Row.

All rooms were beautifully furnished, and the view from Nelson's Lookout was wonderful! The stais up to this room are a little steep, but not a problem. Breakfast was a very healthily cooked full English, and care had clearly been taken to source quality ingredients. In all, a lovely place to stay, with a real soul, unlike many of the larger more impersonal hotles nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livefats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed here for one Friday night in ' Horatia's Room' that overlooked the rear garden right at the top of the premises. The room was fabulous and well appointed with somewhere to sit ( a velvet settee). Great attention to detail throughout the building. A bright and airy dinning room and lounge area. Don't miss the breakfast. Great place to stay, host John made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just spent two nights at Hamiltons in Southend. Lovely room, if a bit on the "cosy" side!
We were made very welcome and really enjoyed our Full English breakfast.The location is great - overlooking the funfair and the estuary and just a two minute walk into the High St. We found it quite noisy at 2am when people from a nearby club were shouting and fighting in the street! At about 5am we were wakened by a dawn chorus provided by what sounded like hundreds of seagulls!!
Parking is free between 6pm and 9am either on the street outside or in a public car park just around the corner. Outside of these times a couple of hours cost us £2.20 so you could rack up a bit of extra expense if you needed to park for any amount of time.
With regard to Southend we were a bit disappointed - couldn't find a decent pub to have a drink in and the variety of restaurants was very limited. Glad we there for work and not a holiday.
We would return to Hamiltons - but only if it wasn't in Southend!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakemaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed here in June for a treat for my daughter's birthday and it was PERFECT. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room was beautiful and clean and the shower was so fantastic no one wanted to get out once in it. The breakfast was delicious, one can choose the healthy fresh fruit, yoghurt, and cereals or have a full English or both (and not need to eat again until dinner). The location was right in the middle of everything, shopping, restaurants, pubs, waterfront, amusement park and yet the hotel is quiet. This hotel is tremendous value for money. We highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SojournTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

From the time we arrived to the breakfast when we left, everything was perfect. The decor in the whole house and bedrooms was beautiful and whoever decorated has very good taste. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. The only thing that was a bit odd was that we didn't receive a bill, although to be fair, we didn't query it. I would definately recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £66 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing