We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem in downtown Southend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Salerno, Italy
2 reviews
“A real gem in downtown Southend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

The Hamilton's is family-run by John and his daughter Rachel. My girlfriend and I stayed there 4 nights. I had great communication with Rachel at the time of booking: she proved very ready and helpful with our very late check-in, so everything went smoothly. The hotel is small but recently renewed thoroughly to a very good taste. It looks like brand new while it recalls old Georgian style! Our double room was the smallest and cheapest one, but still it was great: immaculate, flawless, nicely furnished, sound-proof. The small, clean bathroom featured good towels and toiletries, and a great shower! The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable, we slept there like nowhere else! Complimentary snacks, mineral water and everything to treat yourself a coffee or tea was available. The breakfast was excellent and varied: quality cereals and yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices, and an EXCELLENT English breakfast (veggie option available) cooked to order by Rachel. Overall, their attention to detail is amazing. As to the location, well, the Hamilton's is right in the middle of Southend, just off the High St., overlooking nice gardens full of squirrels and the sea. Seafront and the pier are just a cople of minutes' walk away. If you are planning a visit to Southend, don't miss the chance of meeting John and Rachel and their great hotel: you won't regret a single moment of your stay! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GianfrySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    41
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
149
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Really nice b and b the rooms are stunning and the rain showers wow could of stayed in it all day! Lovely location within easy reach to a nice variety of restaurants. Some lovely attractions to see. One of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever had! Overall really enjoyed everything about my stay and would definitely stay here again and recommend very highly to people. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez21986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
340 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed at the Hamilton because our original choice, the Trinity Hotel, messed up and double-booked us. We were lucky that they had space and were given the Nelson's lookout room at the top of the building. The room was spacious, well fitted out and nicely furnished. The sheets and towels were good quality, clean and fresh. The welcome and service were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel was nicely situated and close to the seafront and shops. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

We booked this lovely B & B after reading the trip advisor reviews which were brilliant. We were'nt disappointed. The location was great as were the views of the pier and sea.The room was really lovely and the reception we received was very warm & friendly.
Whenever we visit Southend this is the place for us!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llethryd_Barns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We arrived late, due to roadworks on the A127. Rachel (standing in for her family) called us to see how we were going, and then gave us perfect directions through the roadworks.

The hotel is like a showhome; every room we were in was immaculate in decor, design and cleanliness. Not sterile, but there's a good deal of (justifiable) pride in the place and it shows, and the welcome was second to none.

Our bags were carried up the stairs for us, and then Rachel advised us of the local places to go and left us to it, after making sure we had all our questions answered.

The bed was nice and comfy, roomy enough for my pregnant wife and I plus a good deal of spare room.

The room was quiet, with only the seagulls interrupting our sleep in the morning. Free tea and coffee in the room, complementary choccies and the most space age shower I've ever seen! And again, scrubbed spotless before we returned for our second night.

Breakfast was exceptional. Bacon sliced so thick it was almost gammon steaks, a deliciously herby sausage and the best fried eggs I've ever had. Forget the mass produced English breakfast sat drying out and hardening in a bain marie some hotels offer; this was fresh cooked to order and on the table before I'd finished my orange juice.

The welcome, room, breakfast, attentiveness and outright excellence delivered by Rachel and her husband has never been paralleled in any of the many 5 star hotels I stay in regularly for work.

We were cossetted (they even lent us brollies to go out in the rain with!) endlessly, nothing was too much trouble for Rachel and her team.

I'd recommend Hamiltons to anyone. The only downside to the stay was the roadworks, and the weather, and there's nothing that they can do about either! (I wouldn't put it past them to try, though!).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanK158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed at the Hamiltons Boutique Hotel for two nights while attending a conference. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we were extremely impressed with the level of service and the standard of accommodation. The room we had (the Lady H room) was prefect for us and the ensuite shower was amazing.

Every detail of the interior of the hotel has been well considered and beautifully executed and is a credit to the owners.

Rachel and her husband went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were extremely helpful and thoughtful.

The full english breakfast was spot on as well.

I just wish every hotel could get it right like the Hamiltons. A+++++

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

we came to southend on a hen weekend and were welcomed by Hamilton Boutique Hotel owners. Each room had its own individual design yet kept in tune with the interior. It was a delightful find and was so central and we were treated well by guest house owners who made our stay enjoyable and catered for all our needs. Great bathroom and some front facing rooms had views of the sea and fairground.

Definitely a gem of a hotel in Southend.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namewithnoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Boutique Hotel

Property: Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamiltons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamiltons is a Grade 2 listed Georgian building situated in Southend's historic Royal Terrace, a premier position overlooking gardens, the Thames estuary & the Pier. It has undergone extensive refurbishment and been restored to its former glory full of warmth & character, a small but much loved hotel with quirky and modern touches. The entrance and stairs are decorated in gold toile with French chandeliers and show pictures of Royal Terrace and surrounding areas. Despite the age of the property 21st Century comfort awaits you with flat screen TV, internet and en-suite shower rooms to all bedrooms. Egyptian bed linen & towels, throughout. After a good night sleep, enjoy your breakfast in our dining room and guest lounge, offering cereals, toast & marmalade, fruit, yogurt & full English if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamiltons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing