We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantis Guest House
Ranked #16 of 24 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed next door in own bedsit, I found the stay enjoyable, the owner was really nice and the breakfast was excellent.
I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
6
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Was allocated a room in the next door building. It was a converted bedsit. It was awful, simply awful. The carpet was disgusting, the wall paper was peeling and the were blood spatters on the sheets. The whole place had an aroma of stale smoke and dirt. The sheets were very poor quality, old and stained. It was obvious that the place had not been used in a while as all the windows were open for airing and there was a layer of dust everywhere. Avoid it.
I suspect that the rooms in the main building are better but don't know. If you are offered a room 'next door' or the 'aparment', run for the hills.
Breakfast was better but the kitchen / breakfast room was more shabby than chic. Also, the personal photos of the owners everywhere are off putting.
The location is good and we had free parking around the back.

Room Tip: Book a different B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeacockEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southend-on-Sea hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Excellent service, very comfortable, convenient to High Street & shopping, transportation into London 2 blocks away, takes about 35,40 min by rail to the city. Located on the coast, it's my all time favourite place to stay when I go.

Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PatK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

The owner was lovely! such a nice lady and the brekkie in the morning was just what was needed. Stayed here for a few weeks. I had an apartment initially which I shared with someone else, we had a living room, kitchen and bathroom which the two of us shared and then our own rooms. Yeah, it is a little run down, but its not badly priced, the owner is really lovely, the brekkie is fine and I slept well! Can't complain at all and I would happlily stay there again! Right by town and it was immaculate!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunglebear78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

For 30 pounds a night, room with no ensuite, I found it expensive. The furniture in the room was terribly old, the mattress and bedding was appauling. The carpet was actually very very dirty. On a positive note, the owner is a very nice person. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was decent. However, it still did not seem worth 30 pounds a night.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SouthAfricaCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.0 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#10 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Guest House

Property: Atlantis Guest House
Address: 63 Alexandra Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis Guest House is an impressive Victorian house built in 1888 and situated in the heart of Southends beautiful conservation area. Just minutes from the High Street and Southends famous pier and seafront. Relax and enjoy a hearty cooked breakfast in our lovely dining room over looking a wonderful view of the local bowling green. Sleep soundly in our comfortable double, twin, single or family rooms. We strive for a high standard of hospitality and cleanliness You can always be assured of warm friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis Guest House Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Atlantis Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing