We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, hearty breakfast, great service & value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waverley Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Found this place by chance, stayed here on business but will definitely go back with my family, lovely location, a breakfast that sets you up for the day & owners that couldn't have been more helpful. Lucky enough to get a room with a sea view which made me feel like I was on holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just come back from a lovely weekend stay with my partner at the Waverley guest house. We have stayed in quite a few b&b's in the past and this is up there with the best of them. We arrived to a lovely warm welcome from the owners and from there on we knew we were in great hands. The rooms where very clean and comfy. Also I have to say the breakfast was top notch.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

New owners only moved in Monday we arrived Friday owner's Internet was down and they was unaware who would be staying. They made me and my partner very welcome Jess showed us to our room lovely lady. Room was small not great views but the location of room 6 means your away from everyone else. The previous comments for this b&b are very grim and sound like a b&b from hell but don't dismiss this little gem which will become a beautiful boutique once the owners put there own touches on their new home. Breakfast was very nice choices from the full English or contintal, the owners where very attentive laying out newspapers asking if we was OK and couldn't do enough for us. I wish you luck in your new home and business.
Gemma & Damian room 6 x

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xxGemski77xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have stayed in much better b & b's, we only booked this b & b because we were going with friends and they had booked in there first and we did not want to be separate from them.
We arrived at 12 and was shown to our room which had a balcony, the doors on the balcony were jammed open and would not close, it was freezing in the room, spoke to one of the staff and she said she had asked her husband to fix it the day previous and assured us it would be fixed by the time we got back as we were going out.
When we got back it had been fixed with sellotape!!!
Bathroom was filthy, there was beard trimmings in the sink disgusting, and i wont even tell you about the toilet brush!
To be honest the whole bedroom was filthy.
In the morning we went down for breakfast, had to wait 40 minutes until breakfast arrived, i wouldnt bother with breakfast i left all of it, my husband asked for a bacon sandwich, he was handed a dried toasted sandwich with no butter and burnt offerings of bacon, i felt sorry for a chap who asked for a glass for his orange juice and after waiting about 20 minutes he pored some into a cup.
I found the staff to be rude, the bedroom to be filthy and the breakfast un eatable, i did not complain on the day as i feel i would rather tell people on here to avoid the place as it has more of an inpact!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Check-in is until 7pm in the evening - this appears to be a strict rule!
We were running slightly late, but weren't aware this would be such a problem. Phone call & text asking us when we would be there. We arrived about 7:20 pm.
In order to get to there as quickly as possible I waited in the car outside with hazards on whilst my friend went to the door. There was no answer. There was no signal on his mobile phone either. He ended up borrowing mine and walking down the road to get a signal. Called the owner who then let him in. He was in a hurry for us to get there as he was going out that evening. My friend got the key, and we drove to the free parking close to the hotel.
We got to our room - the bed took up most of the room, but it was fine. The window was open, which I thought was strange as it was cold and windy out, so I went to close it. The window was grotty and dirty, the heat coming from the radiator beneath it was stifling. I left the window open.
The shower was grotty. Black, mouldy marks all over it. If cleaned daily these marks shouldn't be there. The bathroom floor was pebbles, not comfortable to stand on.
We went for our evening out, and when we returned the room was like a furnace. We had to sleep with the window open. We were both woken up several times during the night with cigarette smoke coming in the window from below. When we looked down it looked like it was coming from outside the dining area. In the morning, due to being so tired from lack of sleep we missed breakfast.
My friend handed the key back, as he knows I speak my mind and didn't want a scene. Rude staff, grotty rooms, don't bother staying here.

Room Tip: Room 6 has awful view and cigarette smoke coming in through the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteHartDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Not impressed with guesthouse. Very unprofessional attitude of owners. Came back very wet after heavy rain all day and heating was turned off so we had no where to dry clothes. Stayed 2 nights and on the second morning had same empty butter dish that was left from previous morning. When we asked for some butter we were given the one from the next table which had been used by the people the previous morning and been left out ever since. Then we were subjected to the family sitting at another table in the breakfast room and the daughter going on about the next mobile that she wanted. Felt as though we were intruders in their family life - and paying for the benefit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It didn't start well. Our booking.com booking didn't exist although we had it. So we're finally given a room, big enough but shoddy, door handle falling off, mildew and smell in the shower, tacky half finished jobs all about. Then the credit card event went on into the next morning so we ended up paying by cash. We were told the restaurant across the road was good, that being two hundred yards east and shut. Free wifi OK, but the receptionist was a back-up husband of the "Manager" with smokers breath and really unprofessional. No parking anywhere. Large bed with a large lump in the middle. Curtains coming unstuck, TV worked, and the breakfast was bearable there being only 50 minutes in which to order and them 30 minutes late in preparing the dining room. Plenty to eat but a bit greasy, sorry guys, it was tragic for £75 cash.

Room Tip: Check out Roslin Hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,644 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Guesthouse

Address: 191 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waverley Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for over 8 years the family provide a personal service with experience in the hospitality industry. Located overlooking the Thames Estuary and only a 15 minutes walk/5 minutes in a car from the town centre and amenities, The Waverley is ideally situated for everyone visiting Southend. The Waverley caters for all dietary requirements in their cooked English/Vegeterian and continental breakfast freshly made to order. FREE Wifi access available on the premises. FREE parking available on coastal road and in a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Waverley Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Guesthouse Hotel Southend-On-Sea
The Waverley Guesthouse Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing