We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed at first but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
1 review
“Dissapointed at first but ok”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The front desk staff were very unhelpful and uncertain. Upon arrival at the front desk and after beginning to book in the man on reception left me waiting to answer the phone and deal with a query without even saying excuse me or sorry. Despite making a booking 3 weeks prior to visiting and having phoned ahead to confirm they couldn't actually find me on the system when i got there which resulted in me having to wait 45mins to get booked in. After booking in i got to my room to realise that there were two single beds even though i specifically requested 1 double as opposed to the two singles and this was confirmed in an email but by this point i was too tired to complain so i stuck with it. The room was clean and spacious. There was no loo roll or facial tissues in the room but this was quickly rectified. Overall the experience was good when not dealing with the front desk!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simply-tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnPalace, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear simply-Tee,
Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor, we appreciate your feedback.
I have looked into your comments and can only apologise for a lack of attention for detail. As a hotel we spend a lot of time on training and personal development, I can ensure you that your feedback has been discussed with the Reception Team to ensure this will not happen again.
I'm pleased to hear that your problem with regards to the room was quickly rectified.
All in all I am sure that we can do a lot better thatn you have experienced I therefore hope that we willwelcome you again soon and I can personally look after your reservation.
Kindest Regards,
Roderick Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    453
    244
    83
    89
See reviews for
269
463
44
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Rooms seem expensive, guess that's what the prime location does for you. If you opt not to give your right arm too, you'll get a room with a view of the multi storey car park and not the sea front. Nice little gym for those wanting to spend some time working out, and the view from the bar is the best on the river. That said, it's not enough to take your mind of the cost of drinks from the bar, which are evidently what is buying that view. The other down side is that it is totally characterless throughout - typically new build hotel. You could be anywhere in the world. Until you leave the main entrance and see the multi storey car park again...

Room Tip: Sell a kidney and get the waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnPalace, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Rob C,
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor, your feedback is important for us.
We do have Sea view rooms available with a surcharge of £20, as these rooms are in high demand it will be from time to time difficult to book them, as an alternative we have the Business Class Sea view which are indeed deerer. All our guests are informed about these charges prior to booking and offered an upgrade upon check in.
Our pricing model is in line with the southend hotel market and is closely monitored.
The hotel has gone through and extensive refurb of 3 years and we have incorporated the history since 1901 (see all pictures and features) and the new contemporary style of Park Inn.
Kind Regards,
Roderick Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed here for one night in Novenmber. Conveniently located with parking right opposite. Rooms were clean, spacious and functional...no frills though and only marginally better than a Premier Inn. Good bar that stayed open late. All in all a good hotel for business or pleasure and probably one of the better hotels in the town. ( booked through hotels.com which was cheaper than going direct through the hotels website )

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnPalace, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Phil S,
Many thanks for your complimentary review on tripadvisor, your comments are appreciated.
Booking through Hotels.com should not be any cheaper thank our own brand website as these are all directly linked.
Please contact me personally if you have any rate difficulties in the future.
Kind Regards,
Roderick Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Dear Tripadvisor,

I stayed at the Park Inn Palace Southend on Sea over the weekend with friends. The hotel is beautiful situated on the very near end of the Thames reaching the sea. The hotel is easy accessible by shuttle bus from Standsted Airport.

The welcome at the hotel reception was already a good start. The General Manager was seen around daily interacting with many hotel guests, both professionally as personally.

The rooms are modern and clean and an absolute plus is that many of them have sea view So has the dining room, brilliant.

Highly recommend this hotel for its offerings: Delicious Breakfast, Jazz evening on Saturday with loads of Fish and Chips at the bar; beer tastings possibility and close vicinity to local clubs, casino's and shooting ranges.

Absolutely a great place to stay, and even if you do not bring your friends, you can always count on the General Manager to entertain you.

We'll be back"

HMG 97-1

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here with friends over a weekend. The hotel is ideally located on the beach strip of Southend with a beautiful scenery of the Thames and North Sea.

The hotel is easy accessible and offers clean rooms with what you would expect from Park Inn. The staff are efficient and courteous. The RBG bar and grill offers great value for money and the view is the unique selling point!

I would definitively return again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the South side - overlooking the Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisure_Traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed for one night at this Hotel. Very pleasant stay. Room and hotel spotless. Staff very pleasant and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel is on the top of the cliff over looking Southend pier and beach. November is not the month to appreciate the beach but the view from the hotel is excellent over looking the Thames estuary. This is a good place for a break as it is a very short walk into the town. The hotel is clean and friendly and you must ask for a sea view room, some even have balcony’s to sit out on !!

Room Tip: Business class room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,548 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Address: Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing