We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the time, Worth the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the time, Worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for our year anniversary and can't say we have any complaints. The staff was very nice and helpful, the room was clean and modern and the view was excellent. The only thing I would say we have to complain about is the beds, they weren't the most comfortable. Overall, for a not too expensive weekend trip with the boyfriend, this hotel did the job wonderfully.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandamay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    425
    228
    73
    80
See reviews for
247
428
42
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed to be near to some visiting family so only had a one night stay. Checking in on Saturday was slightly lengthy for some reason- it seemed a long winded affair for most people however the staff were pleasant enough. (checking out wasn't much better)
The room was clean and we had a sea/estuary view which was nice. Things that marked it down apart from checking out and checking in were very poor pillows, the shower head wouldn't stay up so you had to take it off to shower off properly and it seemed to drench the side if the shower curtain wasn't drawn fully. And then the breakfast- buffet is never a problem for us but there are some things which should be cooked to order- mushrooms and scrambled egg being the main concerns. The rest of the breakfast on offer looked nice with continental- ham, cheeses and artisan bread. Also the usual toast, cereal, pastries etc
Good things were the air con, mattress wasn't at all bad, it was a nice and quiet room, and the TV was ok.
Could have done with breakfast menus on the hotel information- they also were reviewed as having nice home made veggie sausages but my husband (the veggie) felt that the ones he had were not made by the hotel- shame.
Would stay again but feel that we were paying slightly over the odds for what we got....

Room Tip: Sea view are probably the best, there seems to be a noise issue for some on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM_CStokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here for a weekend when visiting the area to meet up with friends. The hotel is in a great location right in the centre and the restaurant and bars have great views out over the estuary. The hotel itself is at the cheaper end of the Radisson hotels but I thought the standard was reasonable. Te rooms were well presented, clean and the bed very comfortable. We had a deal that included a meal on the first night and breakfast on each morning, making the whole stay very good value. The staff were friendly and efficient. I would recommend the hotel and if I were to return to Southend I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

reception staff9 dining 6 rooms7 bed10 bath10
The room is comfortable clean and roomy but no proper cupboards and drawers and only good for two nights stay.
Sea view balcony at £20 per day is excellent and ask for chairs.
Bathroom shower excellent but basin just has a sprinkle of water
Wifi is excellent
Lift jammed when we were there
Breakfast is ok but rubbery scrambled eggs and no fried eggs. Slow to replace when empty and coffee is good.
I was advised that dining here had a Buytlins ambience. They were right
Evening starter was mushrooms in dolcelatte on toast without cheese or dolcelatte
Evening meal was a tough tasteless pork chop called a pork Tbone
Evening meal was an excellent sea bass, spinach and crushed potatoes
Excellent location for high st and pier and Fishermans wharf restaurant
No parking except in convenient Royal shopping centre car park opposite with £1 per hour for first seven hoursand then £15 per day.
Probably ok for family or convenience but not cheap. probably same standard as a travelodge
We had four days with a 50% groupon fortunately as wouldn't pay full price for this

Room Tip: pay £20 a day for third floo balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishermanNeLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

After arriving later than intended it was a a case of quickly booking in , which was straight forward and then to the room for a shower, change and out. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was of a generous size as it was a bathroom that could be used by anyone wheelchair bound which made the shower area more of a wet room than a cubical. As the water didn't run away very well you got wet feet every time you used the bathroom . The room overlooked the multi story car park and Friday night/Saturday morning revellers could be quite clearly heard even from our 4th floor room .I was not over impressed with the front desk help when enquiring about any where to get something to eat , but after all said and done it was a clean room for the one evening.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-worc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I'm generally very happy with my stay in Park Inn last weekend (03-04 August 2013). I came on Saturday morning (10:00) by bike. My room was not available yet (usual check-in time is 15:00) but that was kind of expected so I asked whether I could leave my bike and with bags somewhere safe. I was assured I could leave all things in the hotel luggage room which I found really handy and helpful. They let me do that again the next day after I already checked out so I could stay in Southend till the late afternoon and cycle home in the evening.

I had a side room (332) with the seaside view, looking directly at the pier and a bit of the local fun fair. My first thought was it will be very loud at night but the opposite was the true. The room was of a decent size and it was clean. There was coffee and tea available in the room but no fridge. Air-condition worked well. The WiFi worked well in all areas of the hotel (rooms included). WiFi password can be requested at the reception. The bathroom was tidy and clean with enough towels and with two dispensers for soap and shower gel & shampoo. There were no cotton buds available in the room but could be requested at the reception (also with the nail file and make-up pads) ... for free.

I haven't got the B&B offer so I cannot comment on breakfast; however I had a chicken burger with chips (£9.95) + cafe latte (£2.75) at the bar on the first floor and it was satisfactory enough. The barman was very friendly and got me even extra milk & honey for my coffee.

There is a gym on the fifth floor (including a small toilet, extra towels and the usual office water tank). In my opinion, the gym was decently equipped (several cardio machines, weight machines & dumbbells). The gym can be accessed with your own room key. Don't expect a squat rack or a barbell though ... that you will have to find at some gym.

Also, there were three computers next to the bar (first floor), that could be used for browsing the internet. No password is required.

The beach and Southend pier is just 2 mins walk from the hotel as is the shopping centre. The beach is sandy with plenty of stones so if you're sensitive get flip-flops or some other shoewear.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay in Park Inn and hope I will be staying there again soon. :)

Room Tip: If you want the seaside view from your room, be aware of other travellers coming to Southend to part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qetus p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had an amazing stay, room service was very helpful, great spacious room, massive bed, breakfast was also very good. Given hand made vegetarian sausages which were made on the premises and absolutely delicious! Clean room on arrival. However, had to call room service to get bins emptied and bed made as they somehow missed my room. Will definitely be staying again. Close to beach, shops and restaurants. All staff very helpful and polite, child friendly accommodation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are sunnier, higher floors get less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Address: Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing