We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, tired hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Following a recent visit on business to the town I was warmly welcomed by the staff. The building interior is clean and very large with high ceilings throughout. Bedrooms are also big. The shower room was clean and compared to the room very small. Everything is open. Rooms at the front have views over the famous pier. Not sure what summer evenings will be like with a fun fair directly outside - noisy perhaps. Car par opposite hotel entrance is part of the shopping centre. The hotel have arranged a discount for guests. I imagine the building has a lot of history to it which could be a marketing point.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LadyTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear LadyTraveller50,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to see you again, whether it is for business or pleasure.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    443
    235
    77
    83
See reviews for
261
440
43
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I got a very mixed opinion about this hotel. We arrived around 13:00 and the receptionist was not friendly at all. She told us to return at 15:00, although hotel was not busy. Nothing has been offered or explained by the lady... Here i leave some tips, and perhaps you will better prepared. You have to pay extra £14.00 for sea view rooms, i did not know, and end-up with a cemetery view room, which is free. Breakfast price is £10.00 pp (she forgot to tell us). The room is massive, but the bed is ridiculous (2 very small single beds together). You only have english channels in your TV, what is ok, if you are English (and i guess most of the guests in Southend-on-Sea are). The hotel is very well located, very close to do the beach, shopping and city centre. Pay the extra £14.00, the seaview is priceless, the cemetery view, not really. You can park at the shopping car park. Be prepared to pay around £20.00 day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barreiro-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Barreiro-London,

We appreciate all feedback, equally of a positive and negative nature and we thank you for taking the time to write your comments on a public forum.

We will certainly take your feedback into consideration and use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is worth staying in just for the view, if the weather had been better I can think of nothing more pleasant than sitting out on the balcony with a drink looking out to sea.
The hotel is clean and modern, comfy beds and all you need - my only criticism could be that there is very little storage if you were staying more than a couple of days.
Breakfast was good, drinks in the bar was pleasant and all the members of staff we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and efficient.
Rooms were really quiet which considering the location above the seafront was impressive and I loved all the pictures of old Southend that are displayed around the hotel.
Definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview room - well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuftynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Tuftynut,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay experience on the online forum and for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A girlfriend and I stayed at the Park Inn as it was located near to an event we were attending. Check in was efficient and the receptionist was very helpful. I upgraded to a seaview room (332) for an extra £14 and it was well worth the money! The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. It is a shame though the cleaners can't clean the scuff marks off the wall near the door!

I loved the overall decor of the hotel. Great use of contemporary and old pictures of Southend on Sea throughout.

Breakfast was very good. Everything you need to re-fuel!

Room Tip: Room 332 has a lovely sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelonmeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Travelonmeown,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking time out of your day to write your positive comments on a public forum.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel as part of a birthday treat and so I booked a seaview room. It was the best seaview ever with four full length windows and a mini balcony overlooking the pier - perfect. The hotel was very busy on the night as it was hosting the guests to a film premiere, however, they fitted us in the restaurant despite a late entry and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Kelly F,

Many thanks for taking the time to share such positive feedback. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Enjoyed the overall experience. The staff were excellent. Evening meal was very good. Disappointed with the parking arrangements as I did not get the concessionary parking rates on checking out at Royals car park despite the parking ticket being stamped at the hotel reception to indicate concessionary was due. Need better system!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Naren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Naren M,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments on a public forum.

We are pleased to hear that despite the parking cost, you had an enjoyable stay with us. And look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I'm notoriously fussy and always worry about hotels I book, wherever they are in the world. Having to attend training for four days in Southend I booked the Park Inn on the reviews alone and was delighted with my stay. The staff are professional whilst being friendly and the room was large, spotless and sound proof. I had a balcony room overlooking the fun fair which I thought might keep me awake. When the door was shut and curtains drawn, I couldn't hear a thing. Book with confidence, I liked it so much I'm going back for a long weekend break

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share such positive feedback. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to see you again, whether it is for business or pleasure.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Address: Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing