We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but not very homely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Convenient, but not very homely.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel was recommended to me, and as Southend has limited if no quality hotels I though I would give it ago. initial impressions it looks ok, it's quite a new hotel, but is looking tired already, and it feels very impersonal. it has a kind of Premier Inn feel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I was upgraded to a sea view room. Having to swipe the room key in the lift is quite normal these days, but to have to do it upon exiting the lift to gain access to the room on the floor makes it feel a bit prison like. It makes you wonder what they are trying to keep out? room was clean, but looked neglected due to the age. The bar area is huge, and again lack warmth and welcoming. The following morning no hot water! I did notify the hotel on departure and in the follow up customer survey. In fairness to the Hotel I was contacted by the Manager who was very apologetic and has offered me a compliment stay, a rare follow up, so well done. would I stay there again? Just for a one night transit only.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Nic L,

We appreciate all feedback, equally of a positive and negative nature and we thank you for taking the time to write your comments on a public forum.

We will certainly take your feedback into consideration and use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    448
    239
    80
    85
See reviews for
264
451
44
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

a very good hotel and location had a very nice time at this hotel the room was beautiful had a view of the sea and the pier. Bar and resturant was handy and clean, recomend it for a trip to Southend. Near by was all the amenaties of Southend as well as the Town centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Brian F,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay experience on the online forum and for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The reception were friendly and helpful
All the staff I met in the corridors were friendly and approachable to talk to with friendly smiles
the rooms were pretty large, fresh and met the needs of a few nights stay
the showers were really good (always the most important thing) and the room had a balcony looking out on the pier which was nice.

The location can't get much better; end of the high street, 10 mins walk from stations, next to the pier and attractions.

There were a couple of disappointments during the stay: The restaurant; the staff weren't as good a the rest of the hotel or up to standards, they lacked a smile and the professionalism I expected

The only other thing I would say is that the room needed a good carpet clean/ hoover

The hotel is on its way to 4* a few tweaks would strengthen the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteTiger20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear WhiteTiger20,

We appreciate all feedback, equally of a positive and negative nature and we thank you for taking the time to write your comments on a public forum.

We pleased to hear that despite a couple of disappointments, you had an enjoyable stay with us. And look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Following a recent visit on business to the town I was warmly welcomed by the staff. The building interior is clean and very large with high ceilings throughout. Bedrooms are also big. The shower room was clean and compared to the room very small. Everything is open. Rooms at the front have views over the famous pier. Not sure what summer evenings will be like with a fun fair directly outside - noisy perhaps. Car par opposite hotel entrance is part of the shopping centre. The hotel have arranged a discount for guests. I imagine the building has a lot of history to it which could be a marketing point.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LadyTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear LadyTraveller50,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay feedback on the online forum. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to see you again, whether it is for business or pleasure.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I got a very mixed opinion about this hotel. We arrived around 13:00 and the receptionist was not friendly at all. She told us to return at 15:00, although hotel was not busy. Nothing has been offered or explained by the lady... Here i leave some tips, and perhaps you will better prepared. You have to pay extra £14.00 for sea view rooms, i did not know, and end-up with a cemetery view room, which is free. Breakfast price is £10.00 pp (she forgot to tell us). The room is massive, but the bed is ridiculous (2 very small single beds together). You only have english channels in your TV, what is ok, if you are English (and i guess most of the guests in Southend-on-Sea are). The hotel is very well located, very close to do the beach, shopping and city centre. Pay the extra £14.00, the seaview is priceless, the cemetery view, not really. You can park at the shopping car park. Be prepared to pay around £20.00 day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barreiro-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Barreiro-London,

We appreciate all feedback, equally of a positive and negative nature and we thank you for taking the time to write your comments on a public forum.

We will certainly take your feedback into consideration and use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is worth staying in just for the view, if the weather had been better I can think of nothing more pleasant than sitting out on the balcony with a drink looking out to sea.
The hotel is clean and modern, comfy beds and all you need - my only criticism could be that there is very little storage if you were staying more than a couple of days.
Breakfast was good, drinks in the bar was pleasant and all the members of staff we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and efficient.
Rooms were really quiet which considering the location above the seafront was impressive and I loved all the pictures of old Southend that are displayed around the hotel.
Definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview room - well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuftynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Tuftynut,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your stay experience on the online forum and for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A girlfriend and I stayed at the Park Inn as it was located near to an event we were attending. Check in was efficient and the receptionist was very helpful. I upgraded to a seaview room (332) for an extra £14 and it was well worth the money! The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. It is a shame though the cleaners can't clean the scuff marks off the wall near the door!

I loved the overall decor of the hotel. Great use of contemporary and old pictures of Southend on Sea throughout.

Breakfast was very good. Everything you need to re-fuel!

Room Tip: Room 332 has a lovely sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelonmeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agne D, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Travelonmeown,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking time out of your day to write your positive comments on a public forum.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Agne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,491 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Address: Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing