We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Children not welcome in a family room ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Children not welcome in a family room ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

* We booked a family room at the Park Inn Palace in Southend for ourselves & our 2 young children (1 & 5 years old) while visiting friends and family. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because they guaranteed child friendliness while enquiring for information. We travelled from Belgium & arrived at the hotel at midnight. 'Child friendly' obviously got lost in translation! Beds were not ready for the children, there were insufficient towels, baby food & bottles could not be warmed up due to 'health & safety reasons'. Instead they offered us to walk around the hotel with a jug of boiling water!!! Eventually, after some discussion, they agreed to our request if we signed a hand written piece of paper taking all responsibility. Each day, a discussion & a new piece of paper, with completely different wording. We have travelled a lot & have never come accross such an unprofessional organisation. Our suggestion would be if you would like to welcome families with young children, at least do an effort to accomodate them.
It is a beautiful building, location is good & staff tried to do their best but such a pitty that the organisation lets it down. It was very obvious that they would prefer not to welcome us again WITH children.
* Also a pitty that they do not offer free parking or at least parking at a competitive rate.
* This is a brand new hotel. If they want to keep it looking this way, they will need to review their housekeeping: in the bathroom there was still dirt on the floor behind the bin from previous guests, in the drawer was an empty drink bottle & a towel had already been used.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnPalace, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Kristel39,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay on trip advisor.

We are sorry to understand that the hotel is not suitable for children, when the hotel heats any food from a third party we ask the guest to sign a disclaimer to state that the guest is at all time responsible for the food he/ she has brought into the hotel, otherwise in case of potential food poisining the hotel would be liable. The hotel has a suitable menu what caters for children and our Executive chef is always willing to prepare something special for young children.

Car parking is unfortunately chargeable as it's run by a thrird party and there is no space in the town centre to create a hotel party. We have been able to secure a discounted rate with the NCP carpark which is 24 secured and manned.

The Park Inn Palace opened her door 5 months ago and we are still fine tuning our operation, I personally have investigated the housekeeping issues and it has improved since.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back, please contact me personally in order for me to look after your booking.

Kind Regards,
Roderick Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    433
    232
    74
    80
See reviews for
251
437
42
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Location is awful for security. So bad that the Hotel has locks on every internal door including lifts. When I got to reception the receptiist said with some alarm "Oh you have a car. There is no car park so you can park over the road in the public multi story" - in the middle of Southend ! I reqested a double bed. After leading me around 3 rooms of searching the manager was unimpressed with her own house keeping department and her computer system. Both dinner and breakfast were well down at this low standard and the chairs in the dining room are too low for the tables and I'm 6 feet tall. In the morning I discovered the car park doesn't take credit cards and the nearest cash machine is not close. Any other hotel in Southend is preferable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unimpresed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnPalace, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor, based on your comments we can continue to improve our product and service.

Security is a priority for us especially in a town centre location, by having all door only accessible by hotel guests we avoid that unwanted guests wondering around the bedroom floors. We want to make sure that all guests feel secure in our hotel, this has been very well received by our female travellers.

As the hotel is dating back from 1901 it's very difficult to build a hotel car park in a busy town centre as there is no free space around us We have arranged a discount from 5pm - 9am with the Royal car park accross from the hotel and a council car park is around the corner from the hotel at the local tarriff.

Kind Regards,
Roderick Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southend-on-Sea hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

i recently went to the hotel with my boyfriend for onenight, it is as it states on there website, its very clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. I would of preferred to have been able to get into are room earlier. Rooms are very good value for money would of liked to have a bath in the room as not everyone likesshowers. Overall the hotel is very good value for money and a nice place to stay when you visit Southend.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielleh0136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob140567
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

Very little choice in Southend but I would really not want to end up here again. Hotel very sterile and service poor. Room ok but rest of hotel a souless maze. Breakfast very poor and service mateched this

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnPalace, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear Sir,
First of all many thanks for your review on trip advisor, we are sorry to read that your stay was disapponting.

Park Inn is a mid-market brand and focus on price and the environment, the Park Inn Palace opened its door on 1 March after a 2 year refurbishment, I am therefore surpised to hear there is no soul in the palace, there is a nice blend from the old Palace (built in 1901) and the contemporary style of Park Inn.

As we opened recently we are still fine tuning our operations and focus on a continuous improvement, we sincerely hope to welcome you back on a next visit to southend-on-Sea.
Kind Regards,
Roderick Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Spent two nights at this hotel with my daughter and 2 year old grandaughter.
I have not been to Southend for over 20 years and was very pleased that i had chosen to stay at the Park Inn Palace, We stayed in room 306 and it was very clean and large, the only down fall was that the pillows on the bed were way too small and quite flat. I spoke to a member of staff at the reception desk and within 15 mins we were given another 2 pillows which made our stay even more comfortable. Everything in the room worked well from the flat screen t.v to the shower. Wow the bathroom was really lovely! wish I had a bathroom like that at home.
Buffet breakfast was ok, although it could of been a bit warmer.
The location of the hotel is ideal, it is close to the shopping area and the amusement park.
Well would I return to this hotel? No, only because I never like to stay at the same hotel twice, but if I returned to Southend again I think the Park Inn Palace would be a hard act to follow, However I will be recommending to hotel to my friends and family.

Thank you Park Inn Palace for making us feel so welcome

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDHGraysEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

after an awful night at the trvellodge,we walked into park inn palace,welcomed by a lovely smart proffesinal receptionist,she found us a family room with a balcony and even let us check into are room at 11 insted of waiting till 3 at no extra cost,the place is emacculate,fresh clean and the room was lovely an spacey,i had the best night sleep iv had in ages my children of 1 3 and 6 loved it they were so content in the room and staff were lovely to them rather than looking down there noses at them! i will defantily reccomend and return again!THANK YOU PARK PALACE!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosewillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed here for two nights with our two teenage children rooms very big we also had use of the gym, breakfast was lovely great sea views from all the family rooms, staff very pleasent and helpfull can't wait to go back.
Michelle , Bedfordshire

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Address: Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing