We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Southend Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Solid Southend Hotel”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Stayed here over Christmas with my partner. Complained about initial room allocation and was switched to a fab room - sea views, wraparound balcony and enormous! Comfortable beds, clean, pleasant staff, great bar to have an end of evening drink in. Also, the gym's well equipped and clean too. One quibble - the room was so big it took ages to heat - around an hour. We'll be back though - this is still the best hotel in Southend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillywhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    437
    233
    76
    82
See reviews for
257
437
43
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff on Sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Although I didn't actually stay at the hotel, we went there for a work Christmas lunch. When we arrived we went to the bar for a drink and it took nearly half an hour to get four drinks even though there were only seven people in the bar aat the time! When the drinks came they were not what we had ordered and we had to send them back to get them changed!! Although the actual facilities of the hotel are very clean and modern, they could be a bit more plush given the quality of the actual original building. The worst part of the day was the Christmas lunch. Our party was around 40 people and there was only one man serving vegetables to us!! By the time I got my vegetables, which by the way consisted of one potato one brussels sprout and a tiny piece of carrot, the whole dinner was cold, so I called the waitress over and ask her to take it back to the kitchen and warm it in the microwave for 2 minutes. 10 minutes later, most of the people at my table had finished eating and I still had no Christmas lunch! I asked a waitress again and eventually I was brought up another plate of turkey. By this time, the one man serving vegetables was still serving on another table so I started eating my turkey for fear it would get cold again. Eventually I was brought more vegetables, but by then was pretty much finished eating the turkey. Dessert was a similar experience- While they were serving cheesecake to people they left a whole tray of Christmas pudding on the side to get cold! I did complain to the restaurant manager and he did apologise for my bad experience and admit it was not acceptable, however by this time I was so disappointed that an apology was not enough to make up for the situation. I certainly shan't be going back to the Palace Hotel until they can sort out the atrocious service. Both the bar and the restaurant seem to be extremely badly managed and it's not the fault of individual staff, rather the setup they operate and the lack of management and direction.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcliff-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnPalace, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
Dear Westcliff-Guy,
First of all i would like to thank you for reviewing your experience on Tripadvisor, without your comments we will not be able to review our services and product.

I am very disappointed that you had a bad experience in the hotel which definately not a reflection on our services and product. During the afternoon we have dealt with the issue Immediately and was only effecting a small part of your total group, we brought out new dishes which were all inspected by myself.
All plates are hot when they leave the kitchen for service. As we do not want to overload the plates with vegetables we always do an after service which you received on the night. As I was present on the day I can confirm that there were 4 waiters for your room and you were served by 2 waiters at all times.

Unfortunately due to some employees calling in sick we had to improvise and unfortunately refelected in a poor service. I have addressed your bad experience to the department involved and worked out an improvement plan.

I sincerely hope you give us a second chance and come back to the Park Inn Palace to enjoy our courteous service.

Kind Regards,
Roderick Smith
Park Inn Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southend-on-Sea hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

My second stay at the Park Inn. I think this is the most modern hotel in Southend, and is my preferred place to stay when in Southend on business (booked via our travel company).
Good things include the large rooms, cleanliness and gym facilities. The staff were friendly and polite.
On the other hand, there were some things which if I were nitpicking I would like to change:
- Despite the large bedrooms, the bathrooms are tiny, and I found that water from the shower went everywhere. Also there is no ventilation so it gets very steamy.
- The need to use your card to get through all doors in the hotel. To get to my room I had to use it in the lifts and 2 connecting doors. Seems a bit over the top!
- My room was freezing and took ages to warm up. The problem was that the air con unit was switched off during the day (you need the room key in the slot for it to operate), and in this weather that makes for a cold bedroom! I rang reception to report this but was told to "give it an hour to warm up" - not very satisfactory for me.
- At breakfast, I left my table to get some fruit after finishing my cereal. By the time I got back to my table, my drink and yoghurt had been cleared and some different people were sitting there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssssssssssarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Well, having been there for a conference, there were a couple of issues that cropped up. Firstly the bar shut relatively early on a Saturday night, without the provision for being able to order drinks to your own room after this time.

Rooms were clean, but nothing too special which for the price is to be expected. With any issues there were, staff were helpful, polite and did their best. What is needed is a service where during conferences that alcohol can be purchased all night, and not have a cut off time, even if it is just through room service!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Overall excellent stay. Got a "deal" on a seaview room but initial room was vey poor. Complained politely and got moved to great room without any problem. Service at bar a bit slow apart from that I would strongly recommend. Discount on parking opposite brings cost down from £15 to £6.50. They are really trying to improve Southend and we need to support it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolevegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Very good hotel nice and moden big rooms, not a tiny premier inn!
Exellent staff - i requested 2 extra pillows and they were delivered in 15 minutes.
Breakfast buffet good but slow refilling would be the only bad point of the stay.
will be going back in the future

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgehogharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed at the Park Inn Palace a little while ago. We booked online and got a good deal.
We took the train from London which took 45 minutes and is a nice journey. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the train station.
What a refreshing hotel in Southend and it is nice to see they have brought the old Palace building to life again.
Check in was smooth and receptionist was friendly. Our room was super large, much larger than an average 3* hotel. Beds very comfy and very much enjoyed the sea view from the room when waking up the next day. Coffee and tea making facilities in the room, which is a nice touch.
We had dinner in the Restaurant and good menu choice especially the daily fish specials! After dinner we had some cocktails in the bar admiring the views over the pier.
Breakfast the next day again better than I ever had in any 3* hotel. There was lots of choice and the coffee was very good.
After check out we had a stroll along the beach and walked up the pier and went shopping, the hotel has a perfect location for it.
Overall, very friendly staff. I liked the decor of the hotel, very modern with some quirky pictures on the walls. Large and comfortable rooms, will definitely be back for a weekend break!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thereisonlyoneofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Address: Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing