We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urine and blood stains everywhere!!!!!”

Benson's Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Benson's Guest House
Ranked #20 of 25 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Urine and blood stains everywhere!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Just got back from bensons today and was not happy at all. The place as i only could describe it is a dirty pit of blood and urine. We have showered twice since getting home. First as we were walking up to the b&b we could see rubbish bags overflowing outside the entrance. As we entered the property we was hit with the very strong smell of cigarette smoke. We was asked to pay upfront, we expected to pay by card as they said we could on the phone and the website but was told they dont have a card machine and was cash only. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet seat was broken but that was the least of our worries. We paid for a double but the bed was 2 singles pushed together. The mattress was so dirty that we could see urine stains through the sheet, our friends bed was so bad he slept in the car. The carpets and wall (see pic) had sick stains and god knows what else which made the room stink. The curtains had blood on them (see pic). To top it off it advertises outside to be a bed and breakfeast but doesn't serve breakfeast and we only found this out when we arrived, not that we would have eaten there anyway! We complained to the lady of the house and she didnt care one bit. We will never be staying there again and we will be taking it up with trading standards, the place should be closed down !!!DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Huskybites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    7
    0
    9
See reviews for
2
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Do not stay in this guesthouse! On arrival we were greeted by a very rude lady who seemed to be the manager! The customer service was appoling, very blunt and extremely unwelcoming! House stunk of cigarette smoke also when we arrived back late at night smelted strongly of weed! Curtains had blood stains, beds had unrine and grease on them! Bathroom had strong odours coming from drain pipes! Two single beds to make a double! Frigde was mouldly and smelt rotten! No cards accepted even though we was told they would on booking! No breakfast when advertised to be a b&b! Window wouldnt close which is a huge security risk as was on ground floor! When complaining lady couldn't care less! Basically said what do you expect for £40 a night! All in all the worst place I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nat-hammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southend-on-Sea hotels

surrey
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

my name is dave i work away from home alot so stay in lots b & b, bensons was found to be very clean,staff friendly,very good budget hotel .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Do not stay at this flea pit as its disgusting . We complained to the manager who didnt give a toss . The beds had urine stains on them and the carpet was disgusting . There was a Turkish guy on duty who couldnt speak a word of English . The owners word when I complained was he didnt care who I complained to !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlenRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

For the last 4 years we have been going to stay at the bensons guest house in southend on sea. The rooms are to a good standard and the lady of the house (angela) is a fantastic friendly host. The location of the guest house is excellent with surrounding amenities and it has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
A big thank you to the lady of the house in helping us on our travels home, definatly will be back next year x

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed one night in a twin room (on my own). Staff were friendly enough and the room was an okay size. There was no wardrobe in the room and nowhere to store/hang clothes.

The smoke detector was covered up to stop it working.

The separate toilet/shower room was extremely small and I could hardly move to wash properly in the shower (and I'm quite slim).

Overall, given the price (£20) it provided what I needed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The building and room are tired and could do with a little more than a lick of paint. The lady who greeted(?) us had little or no interest in extolling the virtues of the room or house. No mention that there was no breakfast, should have asked at time of booking but again sign showed Bed and Breakfast, see photo on details.
Room okayish, although mirror had fallen off the wall that day and "the bloke that does the fixing off until tomorrow" No thermostat on the rad so room boiling hot with nobody to tell.
Had to wake the lady up on the monday,0830hrs, in order to pay her. Wasn't until I asked for a reciept that she asked for MY details. If we hadn't been the honest sort we could of left without paying. The whole thing was a shambles. Won't be going again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChippenhamAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson's Guest House

Property: Benson's Guest House
Address: 8-10 Hartington Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Benson's Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing