We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings Bed and Breakfast

The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 24 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed here for one night with two friends we had the back room which was lovely and clean. The breakfast was gorgeous and we wasn't rushed at all.
Next time were in southend we won't hesitate to book here again.
Well done Emma.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Had originally planned two nights but only ended up staying one night. Cancelled within 24 hours via email and had a reply to stay that was fine and there was no mention of a cancellation fee on website.

Had a lovely stay, would highly reccomend as it's well worth the money, the breakfast was wonderful.

However upon leaving we were told that the room hadn't sold for the following night and we should of paid for two nights. It left us with sour grapes in our mouth. Such a shame after a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The front room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annoymous16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just got back from a weekend trip to southend with my husband and 16 year old daughter. Found this b&b from a google search on the internet and how lucky were we?
From the moment of enquiry on the telephone prior to booking we could not find one fault. Emma is absolutely fantastic, so friendly and with a wealth of helpful knowledge of the area. We stayed in the back room which was cosy, clean and with the most comfortable beds and crisp white linen. The shower in the en-suite bathroom was lovely and the towels nice and big. The hospitality tray in the room was well stocked with tea, coffee, water, hot chocolate and biscuits.
Breakfast was a feast with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit ,yoghurt, a choice of full english or an alternative and toast with a choice of homemade preserves. Plenty of tea and coffee.
The b&b is situated within 15-20 mins walk to the centre and also has two chinese retaurants and a pub just a few doors down with a fish and chip shop and a bistro restaurant a few doors in the other direction.
Honestly, if you get the chance to stay here grab it quickly!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My partner and I were lucky enough to get a room last minute at the moorings due to a cancellation, and i've got to say that it was a truly great place to stay. The lady that runs it was so helpful and friendly - it was like we'd known her for years! She gave us so much good info on where to go, what to see etc.
We were in the double room at the back of the property (there are 3 rooms), and it was decorated beautifully in a nautical type theme, with everything you could want for an overnight stay. The beds were very comfy with lovely fresh cotton sheets and duvet.
Breakfast was great, we were asked what we would like and it was all cooked fresh to order so definitely no complaints there!
The b&B is about a 15 minute walk along the beach front to the town, so great if you want a bit more peace and quiet from the clubs and stuff on weekend nights!
Would definitely stay again - this would be my first choice when going back to Southend.

Room Tip: The room at the front has a sea view which i imagine would be lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawny-B1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Moorings is a superb little B&B. Emma and John are most welcoming, the rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you would want. The breakfast is wonderful with a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit and cooked items. Free parking around the rear of the building too and ideally placed.
This was our second stay and will definitely be back and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We spent the bank holiday weekend at the moorings, and this bed and breakfast went a long way to making our stay extra special. clean and comfortable en-suite rooms and happy, helpful service meant that I would not hesitate to stay here again if ever I was to go back to Southend. the breakfast is excellent too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed overnight 25/06/11 with 3 friends...had 1 double and 1 twin room. Emma made us very welcome. Both en-suite fresh and comfortable bed and pillows. Full breakfast next day which was cooked fresh and was lovely. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone who is staying in Southend.
Had fish and chips at Bailleys on the front...fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suenos Guest House
Suenos Guest House
#1 of 24 in Southend-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Moorings b&b
The Moorings Hotel Southend-On-Sea
The Moorings Bed And Breakfast Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing