We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect B&B”

The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 25 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect B&B”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wonderful 4 night stay at the Moorings. Emma and John could not be nicer. Breakfast is delicious and Emma freshly prepares your cooked breakfast. Having been born in the area and returning regularly this is top of the list to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BloomFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This is our third time staying at this lovely little family run B&B. Emma, who sorts out the bookings is always the height of friendliness and explains everything you need to know prior to your stay.

The last time we stayed we had a problem with one of the keys and didn't have the wifi code.
After an informal chat with her before this stay, she ensured upon check-in that these issues didn't arise again.

The front room has a nice view of the seafront, is comfortable and has all the amenities you need and would expect from a small B&B.

Even though it is a front room, there is never an issue with noise from outside or within.

Freshly cooked breakfast was amazing as always, vegetarian sausages were available for my partner. There is also fresh fruit prepared and juices, bread for toasting plus tea and coffee.

The kitchen area is lovely and clean and inviting and it is always a delight to have a conversation with Emma.

Overall I would always recommend The Moorings if you wish to stay in Southend. There is ample parking just around the corner (look out for the AA and parking signs near the Camelia Hotel) and just a stones throw away from the beach.

Great value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Moorings for 2 nights in November for a total of £110 including breakfast.
The room and en-suite was exceptionally clean and was tidied whilst we were out on both days. Bed and bedding was perfect, plenty of pillows.
Complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits provided in the room. Although I personally found the tiny travel kettle provided quite dangerous as you have to take the entire kettle including the plug to the bathroom sink to fill it up, which I would have rather not done.
There was a lack of hanging space within the room, with no wardrobe provided. Instead there was a few hangers attached to the wall which couldn't actually be reached due to an inconvenient large chair and table directly in front of them. I would bare this in mind if you are wanting to bring smart dresses, shirts or trousers with you.
Unfortunately we were awoken early on both mornings by the owners young children (who live above the b&b) running around and shouting.
Breakfast made up for this though as it was wonderful. It was not fried at all, instead grilled and included one of the best sausages I have ever eaten.
The walk into town (adventure island, many bars, restaurants and shops) was roughly 20 minutes. On one of the evenings we got a taxi back which cost us only £5.50.
We were not informed of our check-out time when arriving at this b&b and therefore assumed it would be around 11:00am as it is at most b&b's we've stayed at.
We then experienced banging on our door at 09:50am and shouting saying we had to leave as new guests were on their way. I found this extremely unprofessional.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunAddict21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from a night's stay at The Moorings. We were warmly welcomed by the owner Emma who was very friendly. We had a very nice room at the front of the property looking out to sea. The room was spotlessly clean and of a good size.

The best bit of the stay has to be the breakfast, wonderfully cooked and in lovely little breakfast room.

Should we come back to Southend we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby3156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

TripAdvisor gets it right again. We chose The Moorings for an overnight stay based on TA reviews. Lived up to them in all respects. Clean, very friendly, comfy bed, good location, great breakfast. That's all you need really..........

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waggy_samUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here to attend an 80Th Birthday party .We found the owners very helpfull and attentive .Rooms were spotless .Breakfast was as good as any hotel .would recommend to anyone who wants a short stay .Excellent value for money ..

Room Tip: rooms are all street level .easy access for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms are clean, beds very comfy and with it being a small B&B with three rooms there was no noise on a night, the breakfast was really good and Emma was so friendly, all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRQ186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
616 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
Hamiltons Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Southend-on-Sea
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Moorings Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moorings Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Moorings b&b
The Moorings Hotel Southend-On-Sea
The Moorings Bed And Breakfast Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing