We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we came back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Island

Adventure Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Island Fun Park is the U.K's No.1 FREE ADMISSION Fun Park. Situated on Southend-on-Sea's famous seafront we have over 40 fabulous rides and attractions including the outragous RAGE roller coaster. You don't pay to enter, you ride the rides with our great value all day ride bands.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“we came back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My kids have been badgering us to come back for ages, so we made the most of the bank holiday sunshine. Adventure Island did not disappoint!! Fun for us all - even Nanny. We bought the single tickets as my youngest is still under the 1.2 height, so one ticket covers his & our ride. thank you Southend On Sea for a great day out..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,425
    659
    165
    27
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Visited early May bank holiday with my two daughters aged 5 & 10, they love it here, great variety of rides for both height ranges, lots of places to eat/drink on site too which is a bonus. Was a bit disappointed to see the Victorian dress up photography place wasn't there anymore from my previous visit two years earlier, wanted to get up to date photos of kids done. Will definitely be visiting again, hopefully this year just not on bank holiday weekend, hopefully it'll be a bit quieter then ;-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank karisgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Adventure in Southend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

While the kids and teenagers have fun for the day enjoying the rides at Adventure Island. The adults get to enjoy the shopping centre and restaurants local to the fun. Southend on Sea has moved on incredibly in the last 5 years and has become a place where families come relax and enjoy. The Pier, where Jamie Oliver recorded his four part series about the Cafe on the Pier. The weather is not always good in England, but there are other attractions like the Sea Life Adventure Centre, which is not exposed to the elements and offers good family entertainment. I am sure there is more to be enjoyed here that I have not mentioned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcjac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good British Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I love southend and it's adventure island. It's suitable for all ages, and adults too. Since it's been renovated, it looks a lot better. More modern.
The rides are fairly priced, 2 tokens for big rides (£1.70 each) or you can buy a wrist band for £25 which allows unlimited usage of rides. You can get them online a bit cheaper, or after 6pm theyre half price!
You can also buy pictures after the rides too, which are quite decently priced.
My favourite ride was rage - so much fun!
Staff are friendly and happy to help/give advice around the park.
Toilets are suprisingly clean around the rides.
I haven't eaten within Adventure Island, but I would recommend a place called Neptunes, a little bit further down the beach, away from Leigh. Best fish & chips I have had in England!!
Enjoy x

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CuriousCatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great day out - lots of rides for the kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Very busy theme park - be prepared to queue for wristbands and again for rides. On the plus side lots of different rides and adults ride free with small children so you aren't ripped off by having to buy another wristband. Food and drink available in the park but as entry is free you can also choose one of the restaurants/cafes on the seafront.
Great way to spend a day wuthe the kids/ grandkids.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ifachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure Island also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Adventure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing