We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Exceeded My Expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Guest House
Ranked #13 of 25 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great Value, Exceeded My Expectations.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Chose The Bay as the rooms looked nice on their website and prices looked more than reasonable in comparison to other places we saw. Booked a double bedroom and got room 2 to the rear, lovely bedroom, very nicely decorated, was everything we wanted, an added bonus was that our bedroom had French doors out onto a very nice decking area which had a water fountain and fish pond! Amazing. Look forward to our next visit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    24
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
16
44
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I decided to nip down to Southend for a couple of days, surely a lucky day as i stumbled across The Bay Guest House, (guest book full to the brim with positive words and thanks from the heart) managed to grab the last available room, exceptionally clean and safe, lovely owners, constantly made to feel welcome, real value from a couple striving to make everyones stay..... one to remember, thanks again, Kevin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We found the Guest House to be first class. Owners very friendly and accommodating. Rooms clean and adequate. Only guest house that is Pet Friendly.the Guest House is located on the Southend seafront and a bus service into Town is every quarter hour. There is a fun fair located within a mile away and Sea Life Centre close by. The mile and a third pier is also within walking distance.

Room Tip: Book sea view upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Surprisingly they had vacancies for 2 rooms and much too my surprise the rooms were excellent and exceptionally clean Massive beds the hosts / owners were very hospitable the Breakfast was good the only down side was the water was exceptionally hot and because the breakfast was so good felt needed to eat it again to check that it was that good

Room Tip: The Front room on the 1st floor looks amazing as it has a balcony the full width of the building ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkynice2bnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Came here for a few days with my husband booked room 5 balcony room lovely sea view very clean and comfortable room nice breakfast will def be coming back soon i would recommend the bay when u visit southend. Sandra and William xx

Room Tip: Room 5 is lovely sit out on the balcony and take in the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for a week with my family , great service,the owners are very friendly and nothing is too much of a problem for them . The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and lovely and clean , we stayed in the balcony suite ,and it was lovely having breakfast over looking the sea . Great location too,only a 10 mins walk along the seafront into Southend and you can easily get a train into London too . A charming friendly immaculate guest house !!

Room Tip: The Balcony room is lovely over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutu45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

stayed in front balcony room loved it and so did the kids.the owners had the room all ready for us and they were both very friendly and child friendly as well.food was nice and enough for us all;would definately stay there again

Bernice, Ian, Tamzin and Rhiannon xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIMiller_Family4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,178 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Guest House

Property: The Bay Guest House
Address: 187 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run business on Southend seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing