We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Guest House
Ranked #13 of 25 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Grand Baie
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little guest house”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

super location, really friendly people, good breakfast... parking right outside, clean and well maintained room. everything you need for a comfortable stay. we would recommend this to friends and family and will definitely return

Room Tip: room 2 has a little deck with patio doors.. very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    24
    13
    3
    11
See reviews for
16
43
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Warm welcome, lovely people, well appointed, scrupulously clean rooms. Food was delicious and the price of the room very reasonable. Not only will we stop here again, but we will recommend to everyone else that comes to Southend, too.

Last time, we stopped in a 4 star hotel that was nowhere near as good as The Bay. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100nettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I found this good value for money. I had a lovely big room with good facilities and a sea view. Parking is a bit of a pain as its in a car park just down the road, but it isn't too far to walk. It didnt seem to be too much of a problem to have breakfast earlier than 7.30 if you need too, but obviously its just cereal and toast at that hour of the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic value for money, Eleanor was fantastic, the room was excellent as it had its own patio to sit outside, but unfortunately the weather didn't allow it, the room was excellent and the bed extremely comfortable, tea and coffee making and a nice size tv/DVD set, breakfast was brilliant as nothing was too much trouble. Will most definitely be going back as its on the front and close to restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iansilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed a single night for a friends birthday, good price compared to other hotels\B&B's, clean rooms, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, tasty fried breakfast .

The hotel is on the sea-front with off road parking to the rear and greats views. Room had on-suite toilet/basin plus a large shared bathroom across the hallway.

Larger rooms are available with balcony or french windows leading to the garden.

Would recommend and happily stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, with sea view, double room with on-suite toilet plus a large shared bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed somewhere else before we found this as it was booked up for our first two nights. What a bad miss! Could not fault anything apart from the shower being too hot! We had room 4 which was a twin room on the second floor. Very comfortable with TV, tea,coffee and biscuits and other nice little touches. The room was very clean and lovely white duvets on comfy beds. Shower room was small but adequate. Eleanor did a good breakfast and her and her husband were very friendly. The visitors book proved how much people enjoyed staying there. We would most definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, but I think a front room would be nice overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaLin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights it was a very clean nice accommodation, had access to outside patio with fish pond, free view television, free WiFi (if u ask for password), and they are very friendly, a choice at breakfast and nice orange juice!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infobot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
493 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Guest House

Property: The Bay Guest House
Address: 187 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run business on Southend seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing