We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just okay.”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #418 of 645 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Price range: US$25 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“just okay.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Been here with friends a couple of times, the food is okay but nothing to get excited about. Good atmosphere which was the reason for the visit on a mates birthday.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 855sandymandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    40
    26
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good bit of food..”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Popped in here with friends on a weekday lunch time recently.
The food is good and always has been whenever I've eaten here before.
If you're looking for a 'nice bit of pub food' and pint you won't disappointed.
Service is good - they get busy which slows things down sometimes but that's only to be expected.
NB - has a really good beer garden at the back for when the weather gets better!
Great for a long boozy lunch with friends!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The Critical Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food, slow service :-/”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The food and price was great, the bar staff were friendly, just getting the food took longer than expected by far.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank offord5ft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Decent meal & pint.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I went her with a group of mates for a birthday, we all had a lunch meal which was okay, good value to be fair. I had the burger which was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we vsiited the restaurant with my partner, dad and his partner on 30th December, The venue was quiet at lunchtime, spotlessly clean, and bar staff cheery. we ordered wraps and sandwiches, 1 needed to be sent back as the meat was very fatty, a replacement sandwich was ordered and brought out fairly quickly. the bar man brought over the value of the sandwich and didnt charge us for the new one, excellent service, since we didnt ask for it to be taken off the bill. i have eaten here on many occasions and will will continue to eat here. overall good, reasonably priced pub grub. with a great selectoin of drinks - and there are always offers on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kikiakabussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing