We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but ineffective staff. Ok food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halfway House - CLOSED

Halfway House
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly but ineffective staff. Ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I went because I was staying at the premier inn for an evening meal.
Firstly I was kept waiting for about 5 mins and had to go and find someone to be seated. I had a starter that was ok and then the carvery.
I believe that carverys are best when they are busy and although the restaurant was by no means dead it was not full.
I had to wait again until the carver came back from wherever he was and the meat was not worth waiting for, the veg were ok.

Overall I think the main problem was the staff, although always friendly and smiling it only goes far. They all seem a bit reluctant and slow.

Helpful?
1 Thank danny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, im sorry to hear off your disatisfaction with my team on your visit to us, could i ask that you contact me directly on 01702-588645

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    43
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Carvery worker rude harassed and tight fisted”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

went with family group, young waiter did a nice job any little problems sorted out with genuine charm, when it came to the carvery my experience soured. No Lamb left no Pork left just Turkey or Beef but the carver left a lot to be desired. When asked about choices a spoiled child attitude spewed forth. " that's what's left!" Rude and obvious. This was followed by slicing meat as if it came out of his wallet, laser beam cut meat microns thin the veggie selection had been depleted and not replenished.Made representations to management after the event as didnt want to spoil family evening. A Week later no response.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, im sorry to hear we did'nt meet your expectations on this visit, i havent been made aware of your comments so could i ask that you contact me on 01702-588645 to discuss?

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Carvery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not a bad Carvery a good choice but needs more seasoning in the gravy very bland to taste potatoes a it hard needs to be abit more tasty overall if you have the the Carvery roll make sure you ask for butter and sauce tends to be dry but my partner was very pleased with the combo x

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your feedback, im glad to see your partner enjoyed there meal, im sorry to hear of your comments regarding the carvery, if you would like to discuss with me please give me a call on 01702-588645

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Reliable Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very long standing premises and it has varied in décor and reputation over the years.
However my recent experiences at this Pub/Restaurant have been a great pleasure.

Last year opting for a quiet Christmas we let the Kids do their own thing without having to worry about us oldies. On Christmas day we went out for a drive and looked for a Pub that was open. Not only found the Halfway House open but was easily accommodated for a 3 course festive meal. It was first class food, a comfortable layout and full attentive service.
Being disabled the other serve yourself carvery type premises are useless to me.

I have since had two more reasons to revisit and each has been most successful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avalon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello,
Many Thanks for your recent feedback, im glad you enjoy your visit's to us.

Hope to see you again soon,

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Very attentive and friendly waitress is the only good thing too say.
waited ages for the carvary as they kept on disappearing and the food was not worth the wait dry meat and not all the choices. Veg stodgy and roasties more oil than potato. Me for one will not be returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, i am sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, could i ask that you contact me directlt on 01702-588645 or halfwayhouse.southend@orchidpubs.co.uk

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halfway House also viewed

Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing