We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food ”
Review of Halfway House - CLOSED

Halfway House
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice good in here never had a bad meal nice and friendly staff and not to pricey either and never have to wait long for your meal.

Helpful?
Thank Joe-Lazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Hello,
Many thanks for your kind review, im glad you enjoy visiting us and will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks
Ben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    43
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reasonable carvery for the price”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Carvery was of an expected standard and reasonably priced. My only dislike was the various herbs/spices were added tosome of the vegetables. Most carvaries have ordinary unadulterated veg. Drink was a little expensive - over £2 for a tonic water.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ritad211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your visit to us.
Im sorry to hear you didn't like the herbs and seasoning on our vegetable selection, by all means on your next visit if you would like plain vegetables please ask your server and they will ensure this is done for you.

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Parley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Spent an evening here catching up with a friend.

Generally good service from friendly staff and everything from the food to the drink was priced reasonably as you would expect. Not cheap but not expensive.

Plenty of indoor and outdoor seating.

As it was a Friday night, it got quite busy but that didn't seem to affect the service too much.

Food was tasty and better than many pubs, it was just a tad cool and could have done with being a bit hotter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks

Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly but ineffective staff. Ok food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I went because I was staying at the premier inn for an evening meal.
Firstly I was kept waiting for about 5 mins and had to go and find someone to be seated. I had a starter that was ok and then the carvery.
I believe that carverys are best when they are busy and although the restaurant was by no means dead it was not full.
I had to wait again until the carver came back from wherever he was and the meat was not worth waiting for, the veg were ok.

Overall I think the main problem was the staff, although always friendly and smiling it only goes far. They all seem a bit reluctant and slow.

Helpful?
1 Thank danny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, im sorry to hear off your disatisfaction with my team on your visit to us, could i ask that you contact me directly on 01702-588645

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Carvery worker rude harassed and tight fisted”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

went with family group, young waiter did a nice job any little problems sorted out with genuine charm, when it came to the carvery my experience soured. No Lamb left no Pork left just Turkey or Beef but the carver left a lot to be desired. When asked about choices a spoiled child attitude spewed forth. " that's what's left!" Rude and obvious. This was followed by slicing meat as if it came out of his wallet, laser beam cut meat microns thin the veggie selection had been depleted and not replenished.Made representations to management after the event as didnt want to spoil family evening. A Week later no response.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, General Manager at Halfway House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, im sorry to hear we did'nt meet your expectations on this visit, i havent been made aware of your comments so could i ask that you contact me on 01702-588645 to discuss?

Many Thanks
Ben Merenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halfway House also viewed

Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing