We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine taste of Kerala”

Keralam South India Restaurant
Ranked #110 of 648 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A genuine taste of Kerala”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The food here is so good that it inspired us to take a trip to Kerala! You will not be disappointed. The traditional dishes - fish curry, masala dosa etc - are extremely good and the service has always been fantastic - recommending the perfect mix of rice/side orders to compliment the main dishes. We first visited here a few years ago and continue to visit and recommend to all our friends. Absolutely 5/5.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank broafleaf-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    28
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Keralam simply the best”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This food is unsurpassed and truly delicious. Once you have eaten at this restaurant you will never go back to Bangladashi /Westernised curry. This food is freshly made and the flavours are fantastic. We went with our whole family including young children whole loved the Butter Chicken. The service is fantastic, knowledgeable and everything recommended lived up to its description. A wonderful and authentic Indian meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Try the differents, South indian restaurant"”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you love Indian food but want something different from the usual then this restaurant is fabulous. The main highlight was the homemade chutneys served with pappadoms which is really unusual from other Indian restaurants. The staff was so helpful and well knowledge about the dishes served. The main dishes recommended was butter chicken and Beef Dry fry which was tasting fantastic. They were also served with freshly prepared special kerala paratha. We will be back soon and recommend other friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joseph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true authentic taste of indian food”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Gave this place a shot as a recommendation from a friend. So booked a table for 8, and I must say, the food was beyond our expectation. Different to the usual Indian cuisine which I've tried out. The staffs are very friendly and welcoming. We had great suggestions of dishes from the owner himself, which made it easy for us to choose from the variety of dishes available.

There is a long wait for the food, but don't get put off by this. The food is cooked to order, so the wait was worth it. For starters we ordered; Squid fried, Jeera chicken, King Prawn Poori and cashew nut pakora.
For the main course, we tried out; Chilli Lamb, Butter Chicken, Fish Masala, Duck Masala, Chilli Paneer, Tomato Curry, Jeera Rice, Vellayappam and Malabar Poratta, and can't forget the homemade pickles - simply awesome.

We would certainly return again, and would definitely recommend this place to those who enjoy freshly cooked food with full of spices and flavour. Outstanding food and a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food!! A must try”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The food was great. Very authentic and full of flavour. The menu has so much variation it makes your mouth water. Nice and cosy place. Ideal for all especially families. Staff are well mannered and very helpful. MUST VISIT!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keralam South India Restaurant also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Keralam South India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing