We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chalkwell beach”
Review of Chalkwell Beach

Chalkwell Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“chalkwell beach”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

nice pebbles and a bit of sand not so much of a fairground attraction here like Southend. Lots of nice places to eat and just chill out in. You can walk up into the town part of Chalkwell nice places here to eat as well. Lots of big houses this way with decent gardens

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jane1pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This is were I live so this is always great.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Walk as a couple, play with your grandchild, throw stones into the water, eat a nice cream. This is Chalkwell Beach. English Beach at its Best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place to be”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My family spend much of their time on this beach.
Yes you have to check tide times but if out you can walk out to the ray and swim (shoes a must) go crabbing and explore. Tide in then a nice swim can be had.
We go all year round and so much wildlife can be seen a vast array of birds, seals and plenty of crabs. Big waves on a windy day, we have even built a snowman on it. Always a breeze and just a lovely place to spend an hour or two.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PuddingQueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The greatest advice ever !!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hi All,
this is the one advice for anyone wishing to go to the chalkwell beach.
Reading thru all the tips and advice posted here, we went today to the beach and to say we were disappointed, would be an understatement.
Yes, there was no sea there, no water !!
The reason, was quite obvious, of course chalkwell is an estuary and the water presence very much depends on the tides.
If No Tide, No Water and No Fun !!

Therefore, plan your trip based on your knowledge of the tides (could be evenings most days), they also provide tide info on the beach, but it may be too late and untimely.

So, try and check that there is water when you go.

Of course we waited for about 6 hours before the water graced our shores.

thanks,
Ram

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Ram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
286 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Off the tourist trail”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A lovely beach, not over run with tourists (no offence!). If you want a beach with a different get off at Chalkwell station on the C2C line and walk over the railway bridge. There are toilet facilities, a cafe, etc. Just a nice family beach to enjoy the sun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbsouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chalkwell Beach also viewed

Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Chalkwell Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing