We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely visit, fabulous staff, and it's FREE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Museum

Central Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$160.45*
and up
Private Southend's Seaside Delights Day Trip from London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In the heart of Southend discover the local history which surrounds us and take a trip around the universe in our Planetarium.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely visit, fabulous staff, and it's FREE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We visit relations near Southend a few times a year and have just found this lovely little museum. The exhibits were interesting and perfectly pitched at all ages. Our 8 and 10 year olds found plenty to keep coming and telling us about as we spent more time perusing some very informative nicely laid out displays. The staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful. My boys loved the stick insects and mammoth bones, I loved the Prittlewell find information and the beautitiful fireplace, Dad loved the coastal habitat exhibits and we all loved the bees! Next time we want to see the Planetarium, we will certainly visit again! Oh, and it's FREE!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

this museum was great for giving my grandson info on certain stones and pebbles that he found on the beach and great viewing

Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“family visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

taking the children out for a visit to our museum.
wish it was a bit larger....and opening times need to be clearer

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank nalasetag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A lunchtime visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

In the old Central Library building, this museum is quaint and quite small. However the exhibits are well displayed and changed occasionally so I usually pop in in my lunch break for a quick review, and there's always something worth looking at.
More important are the items that are NOT on display. I was doing some family history research and found that the museum holds a wealth of material that rarely sees the light of day - but is available to you by appointment. Superb.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Arncliffe_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor and jaded”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Southend museum is located in the old public library and is a real hotch potch of exhibits and as a result feels very bitty and certainly does not warrent a visit on it's own but OK if you have the odd half hour to spare.

Plans are afoot to build a new museum for the town but this may not be ready until 2020

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Percy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Museum also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Central Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing