We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....”

The Manor Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manor Guest House
Ranked #15 of 24 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for....”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

LOVELY GUY - TERRY. Room - not so much. The sheets were clean however the bathroom was mouldy (walls, grout etc). However what do you expect for £40 a night? - Cheap and Cheerful. It was booked last minute for New Years Eve... if you want a bed to sleep in and arent bothered about decor go for it. - Location fantastic for the club - walking distance and the seafront. I will add that if in a desperate situ as we were before we would probably stay again - as I say cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was my first trip to Southend but It wont be my last. Eleven of us booked into the Manor for one night. Three of us stayed in 'the flat'. It was clean, warm and very comfortable. Terry was so welcoming we will be booking to stay here again very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babystrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

NEVER STAY HERE!!!!!!!
I had booked my family to stay at the flat for 4 nights........but only stayed 2 hours as it took us that long to find other accomodation that was clean and tidy,even the entrance is untidy and unwelcoming.
On entering the locks on the door were insecure,there was scuff marks on walls,doors and appliances.
All carpets were worn and sticky.
Electric sockets were overloaded.
Sofa's were tatty and uncomfortable and a bit smelly.
One small wardrobe for somewhere that sleeps 5 people.
The toilet leaked.
The shower.... well i would feel dirtier after showering.
The kitchen, the cups had to be cleaned first and the stable door, opening to a drop is NOT safe.
The room upstairs was hot, cramped, windows that didn't open and no blinds or curtains!!!!
it was just a very awful place and as a first visit to southend it was a shock. we then found westcliffe Hotel and stayed there and was wonderful.

Room Tip: not in this place. westcliffe area is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninabee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I recently spent a night at THE MANOR GUEST HOUSE with my wife and daughter and we all had a very nice stay.
Firstly the manager TERRY is one of the friendliest people I have ever met, he made my family and I feel very welcome, and comfertable from the moment we stepped foot through the door.
Our room was to a good standerd, nice and clean, with an en-suite bathroom, tv and tea making facilities.
The location is almost perfect, you are a stones throw away from the sea front but just far enough from the main road, so you dont hear the noise of all the nightlife.
For value for money the is a 100% thumbs up, and i shall be returning with my family in the future.
Oh, and heres a tip for customer service................. we arrived into Southend Central train station at about 8pm on the saturday night. Not quite knowing the way to the b&b with called Terry for directions, in which he told us to walk a short distance down the high road and that he would come and meet us to take us back. This is hands down some of the best customer service that i have evr recieved.
Oh and if you do decide to visit THE MANOR GUEST HOUSE, watch your step because GIZMO the sweetest little dog in Southend may be running about.
All round a great stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay at the back of the b&b so you wont hear any noise from the main rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed at the manor guest house with my family a few weeks ago. We were greeted by the manager terry, very helpfull man. We were given a family room for myself and my family. Cant fault the room one bit. After being at the manor for couple hours terry then asked us if we wanted the flat, as the people that were there had left. As there were 5 of us we said yes please. The flat was big and spacious, clean and tidy, and unlike the people who wrote the last review about the flat mine and my kids feet did not stick to the carpet. We found the flat to be really nice and would stay there again. Great place and really nice people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we booked a night at the the attached flat to the Manor Guest House, and really wished we hadn't. Now I have no idea as to what condition the main guest house is like as as we did not set foot in there, luckily. The 'car park' is also home to some tatty permanent static caravans and doubles up as a car park for the Guest Houses attached cafe. The flat we stayed in was large but that is the only good point, the walls are stained and scuffed, the front door lock is falling off, the carpet on the stairs is dirty, the kitchen is old and broken. The kitchen tap has mould growth around the base, there are food and grease stains on the kitchen ceiling and in the cupboards. The rear stable kitchen door lock was non existent and only shut via a feeble stay and overlooks a sheer drop to the yard. The couches were old and tatty, even the throws over them were covered in hair. The bedrooms on the top floor were awful, four beds cramped into a small space with two non locking Velux windows, that had no blinds nor curtains, there was missing ceiling lights that had the holes sealed over with gaffer tape, when my wife took off her shoes her feet stuck to the carpet. I could go on, this is a truly awful place, if had not been for the fact we had paid in advance we would not of stayed, never have i had to tell my children to sleep in their clothes on top of the bed covers. Even with this some of us actually had bite marks in the morning. It is a shame that Trip Advisor don't have negative ratings.

Room Tip: dont stay here it may be bad for your health, check the place before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I Have stayed here in the past and i can say it's one of the best guest houses in the area the staff always go out there way to help you and if you have a problem they will go out of your way to help
you. the cafe at the manor is great value for money . i don't ever have a problem having a good nights sleep when you are so close to the pubs and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Guest House

Property: The Manor Guest House
Address: 9-11 Pleasant Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our excellently situated guest house can offer you short term or long term accommodation. Located 30 yards from the seafront just a ten minute walk to the town centre. We are open all year and our friendly staff are happy to help you with any queries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing