We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken Dinner!”

The Manor Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manor Guest House
Ranked #16 of 25 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chicken Dinner!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I'll keep it simple. This is perfect for anyone going to the infamous legendary PKR SOS live meet,Especially if they are in the car.. . Arrive..., Park the car up at the back of the guest house private parking. Sign in with the very friendly landlord... 3 min walk to the pub, av a few jars... 4 min walk to casino.. Nice game of poker, more drink.. Stumble back to hotel at silly o'clock.. 3 hrs sleep.. Wake up, full English breakfast in the cafe downstairs.. Start again.. This place made a mad weekend of poker playin very affordable.. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozza541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Well Done!!
Lisa & Faye

We couldn't believe our eyes, when we walked in and saw the fresh fruit bowl, flowers, Thornton's chocolates and a bottle of bubbly waiting there for us in our room.
You have started as you mean to go on
this was simply amazing. This guest house goes the extra mile. With its great tarrifs, clean and comfortable rooms. Parking on site and a stones throw from the beach and of course Southend- on Sea's sea front with it's casino's, the famous Kursaal and Adventure Island for the children.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkkellykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here for one night of the May bank holiday weekend and for £20 each per night it was superb. We stayed at the holiday inn for the first night and were resigned to leaving the next day as everywhere was full and we couldn't afford another night a the HI. Thankfully we happened across this place and it was perfect. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the location just 10 seconds from the seafront, so much better than you would expect for a place of this price! The owner Terry is an absolute legend and have already recommended The Manor to my sister who is going to Southend soon, and would recommend the place to anyone else, woluld happily of paid £50 if that was the price, or if i was on 4 in a bed... Also, there is parking for 14 cars, can't stress enough how good this is as, for example, if you stay at the holiday inn it's £5 a day, the Park Inn- £13 for a stay. For Value this place is excellent in every way.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brobiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed here on May bank holiday, it was a lovely friendly welcome, had a lovely rest, great location and had a really nice time here.

just want to say a big thank you to Terry and his mum Lisa, will definitely be coming back to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racheal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

we stayed 3 nights at the manor terry let us have the flat for what people have put about the flat saying on here i can say its all rubbish we enjoyed staying in the flat the room upstairs very comfortable terry and his wife are very helpful people and they always go out there way to chat to you help you at the end of the day its what you pay for its a roof over your head somewhere warm and safe to sleep and you know your not going to get ripped off somewhere else..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I been visiting this guest house for a few years. I can honestly say Terry and his wife who run this establishment. Really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Affordable rooms that are clean and tidy wih tea making facilities.
Plus not forgetting the biscuit's!!. Just two minutes walk down to the sea front. With free on site parking adjoining the guest house. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkkellykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

LOVELY GUY - TERRY. Room - not so much. The sheets were clean however the bathroom was mouldy (walls, grout etc). However what do you expect for £40 a night? - Cheap and Cheerful. It was booked last minute for New Years Eve... if you want a bed to sleep in and arent bothered about decor go for it. - Location fantastic for the club - walking distance and the seafront. I will add that if in a desperate situ as we were before we would probably stay again - as I say cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ilfracombe House Hotel
#10 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Guest House

Property: The Manor Guest House
Address: 9-11 Pleasant Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our excellently situated guest house can offer you short term or long term accommodation. Located 30 yards from the seafront just a ten minute walk to the town centre. We are open all year and our friendly staff are happy to help you with any queries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing