We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great serivce”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our Daughter recently held her wedding reception at this Hotel and it proed to be a great choice.The Hotel went that extra mile to make sure eerybody had a day to remember the function room was set out beautifully the food and staff where fantastic.Special thanks to Hayley who organised the day.A lot of guests stayed over so that we could meet up for breakfast in the morning the rooms where clean and well equipped we paid extra for an executive room (hotel is very well sound proofed no noise)but the standards where also very well equipped.Breakfast was plentiful and freshly prepared all in all couldnt hae gone better thanks again to all the staff

Room Tip: go that extra mile and upgrade to executive for great views over the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve1635509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We will make sure your views are shared with the team. Wishing your daughter and groom many congratulations once again, it was a truly lovely reception,
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on Friday July 5th so we could attend my son's university open day.
this hotel was a great place, fantastic service , very clean , comfortable beds. We also had to ask for extra towels and bedding , this was delivered to the room with 5 minutes of our call to reception.
Would stay ( and will ) there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a great experience with us at the Holiday Inn Southend. We hope to have you back as a guest in the future and good luck to your son at University.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a morning flight. Naz at reception was lively and so helpful. Our room was upgraded and it was really good. Very clean and modern. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant , no waiting and food was good. 5 minute walk to the terminal. My only gripe the bed was so soft so didn't sleep much as we had that roll in the middle thing going on !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the bed failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards however I am happy to hear the food and service was great. I do hope you will give us another try in the future and we look forward to having you back again one day as our guest.
Kind regards
Vicky Graves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Poor quality food, very slow service. Ordered food - took a while no arrive, and as not what was ordered in the first place!.Will not stay here again, rather sleep in the back of the car. Windows in room don't open, no fresh air. Air Cons noisy - so no sleep!

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit. I’m sorry you experienced a delay with your order and your order was incorrect. Our chefs at '1935' take great pride in the food they cook for all of our guests, as do our staff on delivering a first class service at all times. Your feedback has been shared with the team to ensure we learn from the comments made. I do hope you will give us another try in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me on 01702 543 001 if you wish to discuss the matter further.
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I've stayed at this hotel four times over the last two months. The hotel is fairly new and with the right room it overlooks the airport runway/terminal - at the moment easyjet dominate but that'll no doubt change eventually.
Of all the rooms I've stayed in they have all worked fine - fittings still look and feel new and the hotel has done a good job maintaining standards. The in room wifi is free, that means everyone uses it and it's therefore slow most of the time (circa 1mbps).
Dinner is nice - I've eaten there with colleagues and solely and on all occasions service is attentive without being invasive and the staff seem rightly proud to serve some very nice dishes.
The only snag, and it really is the only snag, is that being a business traveller I want to get breakfast quickly and go - that's been a real ongoing challenge for the hotel as it seems to try and cater for coach loads of OAPs - they of course have more time on their hands than I do! Queues have been regular waiting for breakfast whilst I've been there - hopefully the hotel will deal with this in time.
Other than that, a very nice place and when compared to other hotels in the area it's the only decent place there is.

Room Tip: Ask for a runway facing room (if that's your thing!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We will make sure your views are shared with the team. We apologise that you have experienced a delay with breakfast on your visits to us so far, we do try and cater for all of our guests but with a buffet on offer it can be hard to move things along quickly when guests are here at their leisure. Your comments are noted though and we always appreciate feedback that we can reflect on. Thank you once again for your stay,
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed here for the night before an early morning flight, we arrived quite late in the evening, and our room had been upgraded (always a nice touch!). Hotel was lovely and clean, with welcoming staff. We had booked the room with 4 days parking included, which was at a good price. Unbelieveably convenient for Southend Airport, a minute walk and you are at the terminal! Will definately be looking at flights from Southend in future, and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a great experience and enjoyed the service.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed here before an early flight out of London Southend Airport. The hotel is brand new and although it has been open for a few months, the hotel feels like new. The rooms are bright, airy and modern. Reception staff were brilliant. Tea and coffee in the restaurant was nice and there are some really good views over the airport.
Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a great experience with us. We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
134 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £63 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing