We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four nights half board at hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Four nights half board at hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Yes, not just an overnight stay but a party of 38 people Monday to Friday. Didn`t know what to expect with it being a commercial hotel for a holiday but it could not have been better. We, as customers, became very special to the staff and we had some fun together. Because we went with Travelstyle coach company, we went out everyday but it was great to know that when we returned we had comfort and Air-condition in the hotel... The Manager looked after us well , even changing our evening mealtimes so that we could attend the evening Palace theatre. I am confident to say that our party, ( having been together for many years ), would agree with this report.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricStaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We loved having you with us for your tour and was delighted that you got to enjoy the sunny weather whilst you were here.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    259
    75
    35
    22
See reviews for
152
241
34
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Restaurant staff Antoine recommended us the cheese soufflé and the fish and chips. This was a very good choice and we both enjoyed our meal.
Chapeau for Antoine. He is also friendly and very professional.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Soerish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We will make sure your views are shared with the team, especially Antoine - so thank you once again,
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

This isn't your average Trip Advisor review. I have been a customer of the hotel, but only of their top floor bar (which has spectacular views if the airport and surrounding area).
This is a review of /thank you to the hotel staff and particularly Vicky who looked after my daughter Kate on her 2 week work experience placement. Her view of the hotel from behind the scenes is that it is well run and has lovely, friendly staff. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad that your daughter enjoyed her work experience, she was great fun to be around and good worker and is greatly missed.
Thank you once again, it was my pleasure
Vicky
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just stayed at the Holiday Inn at Southend on Sea airport for 3 nights in July. Very nice hotel with comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. Has a great rooftop restaurant that serves excellent food. The interesting view overlooks the local airport. The hotel is also in walking distance to the local railway station which takes you either into London or Southend, whichever you choose. Well worth a stay whether you are just using it overnight before a flight or to just have a few days away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Staff were amazingly rude and need a lot of training in their job roles! Upton check in and departure I was told to pay for the cold/late/wrong breakfast otherwise my card will be charged later when I had already prepaid for everything in advance and also had a recipt to show them! Knowingly it was my anniversary they only gave 1 tower and bathrobe in the bedroom, fire alarm went off and was told to evacuate, once we went down they said there were no fire and didn't bother to apologise or let us know it was a false alarm! Ac wasn't working,staff said someone will come up but no one did. Waiter who came to our room with breakfast had got the order wrong and was so rude and said to give him 3 pounds tray charge because its company policy; fair enough we said please get our order right first he said no please give me the 3 pounds first! Anyway I have emailed 2 people about this stay and I have not got any reply back. The staff are very rude! I only went there because of the good reviews I had seen but it was a rubbish stay! The rooms are lovely but if you don't recieve the correct treatment then it's all worthless!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misshapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We want to improve in the service that we offer so please do not hesitate to contact me further to discuss your stay on 01702 209 093.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed for one night in room 406, a superior room which has amazing views over the runway. The room was so spacious and decorated beautifully. The bathroom had large bath and separate rain shower cubicle and his and her sinks.
The rooftop bar was lovely.It offered a menu of cocktails, however the bar staff were not knowledgeable in making any. Had to advise several times on preparation.
Buffet breakfast good but had to wait an age for dishes to be replenished, however staff were excellent.
Altogether an excellent stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrisonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the cocktails where not met with your expectations and our usual standards however I am happy to hear the service was great. We will ensure that all cocktail training is refreshed with all staff as well and as ensuring the stock levels of breakfast are monitored. I do hope you will give us another try in the future and we look forward to having you back again one day as our guest.
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It's one of the best Holiday Inn's I've stayed in. Spotlessly clean, modern and the view from the restaurant is fab. Check-in staff are very friendly. My only criticism would be the restaurant prices. £12+ for a shepherds pie is a bit steep. Go for a dinner B&B package unless you really feel like spending a fortune on what is mediocre pub grub. Breakfast is OK, but again, book this as part of your package. Very expensive on its own!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airmilesjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had a great time with us and we hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Property: Holiday Inn Southend
Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing