We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the runway but still manages to be peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel was contemporary and tidy. The room was a decent size and was clean and modern. The ensuite was well appointed with a good, powerful shower and a large bath. Our room was at the front, overlooking the car park; not the most inspiring view but to be expected considering the location. The hotel is literally yards from Southend Airport (the restaurant actually overlooks the runway) and yet we never heard a plane land or take off for the whole weekend which was impressive. It is also close to the train station which will take you into town within minutes, should you wish to go.

We ate at the restaurant on one night; I had cheese soufflé, steak and ale pie and pana cotta washed down with the house red and they were all excellent. Our waitress was attentive and very friendly (I have forgotten her name but she was about 8 months pregnant).

I did have a couple of criticisms of the hotel; we had to pay £5 a day for the parking which I thought could have been included in the fairly substantial room rate (it's not like its a city centre location). Also, we ordered room service late one night; when it arrived, I asked for the bill to be charged to our room which was agreed by the staff member. However, some time later (as I said it was already late) we received a phone call which woke our baby, saying that our food could not be charged to our room and needed to be paid in cash, followed by a knock at the door to collect it. Firstly, I'm not sure what would have happened if we hadn't had the cash?? And secondly, surely it could have waited until the morning??

Otherwise, our stay was pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Smith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our friendly service and your room. I am sorry to hear that the room service experience was not done efficiently and that your party was woken up. We will of course ensure that this is looked into. With regards to the parking, it is very common for Airport hotels to charge now and this also helps ensure that spaces are reserved for guests only.
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Southend
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Food was good, The service was very hit and miss, we had to ask for several items more than once, I would not recommend this resturant to any of my friends. For such a nice venue, its a pity, the resturant cant provide the service. Ive had better service at the local Cavery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards and that you had a lengthy wait at times, we want to improve in the service that we offer so we will reflect on your comments. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Southend is not one of the great holiday destinations of the world, and Southend airport not one of the great travel hubs of the UK. So why somebody built a hotel this good here I don't know, but they did. The rooms are awesome both in terms of space & décor, the staff are wonderful and even if you're not using the airport (which is literally a stone's throw away) or the Liverpool St rail line (bring 2 stones) the A127 is close.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 401. It's directly under the bar upstairs & you hear servers walking bac...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed over one night as we had a wedding nearby and the hotel just about did the job fine. The bed was very soft but I liked that. Very clean room with all freeview channels. However, when we got to breakfast there was one waitress running back and forth topping up all the hot items but they were being topped up by such small amount, by the time she returned with the next one the previous had run out. I did feel sorry for her, as there should have been more than one person doing this. The pastries were very hard/stale and the coffee was horrendous, the worst I have ever had, it poured out in a slightly thick texture. I am convinced it was made with poor instant granules in a huge pot with the wrong amount of water. In a hotel it should always be filter coffee. The final outrage is that normally I believe that guests have to pay for parking. This I think is disgusting and never should be allowed especially if you are paying these sorts of prices to stay over night. As I said in the title, we had a reduction as part of a wedding party but if I had paid full price I would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and amenities. We are always striving to provide the best service, however sometimes if all guests come at once to breakfast it is not possible to manage the portions sizes as we offer a help yourself buffet. The coffee provided is freshly brewed Lavazza Filter coffee, so I apologise this was not to your liking, however we will review the coffee the process. With regards to the parking, it is very common for Airport hotels to charge now and this also helps ensure that spaces are reserved for guests only.
We hope to have you back as a guest again in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A spanking new hotel right on the airport at Southend...
Service was excellent from start to finish, the breakfast was absolutely first class as was the dining lounge with panoramic views of the great little airport.
There was a pleasant bar to have an evening drink in and the room really was spotless. Shower was very good and bathroom generally very well appointed.
The bedlinen was spot-on, and all in all absolutely no complaints, just compliments, well done Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the airport if you like planes!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabberjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law chose the Holiday inn for their Wedding reception and we were all very pleased with their choice and would highly recommend this Hotel for all occasions. Some of the family stayed over night there too, including the happy couple and breakfast was also lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaymaker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to look after the lovely Bride & Groom and it's wonderful to hear that they had a pleasant stay. Wishing them both a lifetime of happiness, and looking forward to welcoming you all back as guests in the future,
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting family and friends in Southend. We had 2 rooms a standard twin and an executive room.

The executive room was excellent, very spacious in the corner of the hotel so it had lots of glass and lots of light.

The room was clean and very well appointed, mini bar, tea/coffee making facilities, excellent lighting, plenty of power sockets and a large Samsung Smart television. It must have been at least a 37"!

The hotel was built in 2012 so everything felt and looked very new, we didn't try out the restaurant or bar so I can't comment on that.

No noise from the airport whatsoever but we were overlooking the front of the hotel and not the airport but still impressive not to hear anything at all.

Car parking is charged at £5 for guests and wifi is only free for the first 30 minutes.

Staff were polite, pleasant and efficient, they also recognised us as priority club members which doesn't happen very often!

Now for the bad point. There is only one but to be honest it's one of the main reasons for staying in a hotel and that's to sleep! The bed is probably one of the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in and this was all down to the mattress. 2 People have no choice but to sleep together in the middle of the bed! It's either very poor quality or as others have mentioned it has not been turned over correctly. If this issue was sorted out then we would have given an excellent rating but for this reason just 4.

Would go back and stay again but the bed needs to be sorted and it's not just one room as others have mentioned before.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanVicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards. The Housekeeping team have been spoken to and all beds have been checked further to concerns raised.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
132 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#3 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £61 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing